Summit League Announces Staff Promotions

Summit League Announces Staff Promotions

ELMHURST, Ill. – Summit League Commissioner Tom Douple announced the promotion of two current staff members, effective immediately.

Greg Mette was elevated to Director of Communications and Stephanie Sabaduquia to Director of Championships.

"It is great to be able to reward long-time dedicated employees with well-deserved promotions," said Summit League commissioner Tom Douple. "Greg and Stephanie have been tremendous assets to our staff. We appreciate their loyalty and contributions and are glad to have them continue as part of our league's growth."

Mette, a member of The Summit League communications staff since 2007, spent the past seven years as associate director of communications. He oversees the development of the league's Web site, including a transition to PrestoSports in 2012 and re-design in 2015, and serves as the primary contact for four sports. The Dayton graduate originally joined the league as assistant director of media relations after stints as an intern for the United States Olympic Committee and as graduate assistant at Western Illinois.

Sabaduquia came to The Summit League in 2010, and has been serving as assistant director of championships since 2014. She coordinates logistics, including on-site event management, for the league's 19 championships with direct oversight for four of the events. The North Park University graduate and former Bowling Green athletic communications graduate assistant originally joined the league as communications assistant before moving into the role of assistant director of communications.

Celebrating its 35th season of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 80 Academic All-Americans, 75 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at


Behind The Desk: Tom Douple
August 16, 2016 Behind The Desk: Tom Douple