The Summit League Announces Formation of Hall of Fame

The Summit League Announces Formation of Hall of Fame

Summit League Hall of Fame FAQs

ELMHURST, Ill. – As the centerpiece of The Summit League's 35th anniversary season, the league announced the formation of a Hall of Fame to honor its all-time greats. The inaugural class will be revealed in March 2017.

"This is an excellent way to preserve the legacy of the greatest student-athletes, coaches, administrators, and teams who have paved the way for The Summit League's success," said Summit League Commissioner Tom Douple. "There have been tremendous achievements throughout our league's 35 years that are worthy of Hall of Fame recognition. Recipients of this prestigious honor are ensured a prominent place in Summit League history."

A nine-member selection committee representing each current member institution will review and select an annual induction class. The inaugural class will be comprised from eligible individuals who were selected to The Summit League's 30 Most Distinguished Performers list during the league's 30th anniversary celebration in 2011-12.

Eligibility standards include completion of eligibility and/or tenure at least seven years prior to nomination. Each nominee must have achieved significant honors during his/her career within the league, on a national level, and/or in professional or Olympic competition.

The Summit League Hall of Fame also features its own branding with a logo that incorporates the present and past. The current "peak" logo is amalgamated with elements from the iconic logo used when the league was known as the Mid-Continent Conference in a nod to the previous era.

A webpage devoted to The Summit League Hall of Fame will be unveiled during the winter.

Celebrating its 35th season of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 80 Academic All-Americans, 75 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at


Behind The Desk: Tom Douple
August 16, 2016 Behind The Desk: Tom Douple