Summit League Releases 2017 Fall Sports League Schedules

Summit League Releases 2017 Fall Sports League Schedules

Men's Soccer Schedule
Women's Soccer Schedule
Volleyball Schedule

ELMHURST, Ill. – The Summit League released its schedule of 2017 regular season league contests for the fall sports of men's soccer, women's soccer and volleyball today.

The seven men's soccer teams begin league play on Sept. 23 and conclude on Nov. 4. Defending tournament champion and College Cup participant Denver opens Summit League play at home against IUPUI. A rematch of last season's tournament championship and co-regular season champions Denver and Omaha, takes place Oct. 28 in the Mile-High City. Eastern Illinois and Western Illinois, both tournament participants, square-off in Macomb on Sept. 30.

In women's soccer, the nine squads will begin league play the weekend of Sept. 28 – Oct. 1. Co-regular season champions Denver and North Dakota State battle each other right out of the gates on Oct. 1 in Denver. A rematch of last season's Summit League Tournament title game between Oral Roberts and South Dakota State takes place Oct. 22 in Tulsa. Eight of the league's nine teams wrap-up the regular season on Oct. 29.

The double round-robin league volleyball schedule begins the weekend of Sept. 22-24. Co-regular season champions Denver and South Dakota battle in the first rematch of last season's tournament championship match on Oct. 15 in Denver. The two squads meet in Vermillion Nov. 10. The final day of the regular season is Nov. 12 with Western Illinois hosting Denver, Omaha hosting North Dakota State and Oral Roberts traveling to IUPUI.

Celebrating its 35th season of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 80 Academic All-Americans, 75 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at


Behind The Desk: Tom Douple
August 16, 2016 Behind The Desk: Tom Douple