South Dakota Earns Second Summit League Sportsmanship Award

South Dakota Earns Second Summit League Sportsmanship Award

Sportsmanship Award Release | Past Sportsmanship Award Releases | Photo Gallery 

ELMHURST, Ill. – South Dakota has been honored by its fellow institutions with the 2016-17 Summit League Sportsmanship Award it was announced Wednesday. It marks the second time that the Coyotes have earned the prestigious award.

The Summit League Sportsmanship Award is given annually to the institution that is judged by its peers to be the best in the league in living up to the ideals of sportsmanship. Areas for evaluation include student-athlete conduct, staff/administrator conduct, coaches' conduct and event management.

Southern Utah owns the league record with five Sportsmanship Awards, followed by Centenary with three. South Dakota joins Fort Wayne, Omaha and South Dakota State each capturing a pair of awards. IUPUI, Kansas City and Valparaiso have each earned the honor once.

Previous Sportsmanship Award Winners
Academic Year School
1998-99 Kansas City
1999-2000 Southern Utah
2000-01 IUPUI
2001-02 Valparaiso
2002-03 Southern Utah
2003-04 Southern Utah
2004-05 Southern Utah
2005-06 Southern Utah
2006-07 Centenary
2007-08 Centenary
2008-09 South Dakota State
2009-10 Centenary
2010-11 South Dakota State
2011-12 Fort Wayne
2012-13 Omaha
2013-14 Omaha
2014-15 Fort Wayne
2015-16 South Dakota
2016-17 South Dakota


Celebrating its 35th season of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 80 Academic All-Americans, 75 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at


Behind The Desk: Tom Douple
August 16, 2016 Behind The Desk: Tom Douple