#SummitUniMadness: (4) South Dakota State (MBB) vs. (8) Western Illinois (SB)

#SummitUniMadness: (4) South Dakota State (MBB) vs. (8) Western Illinois (SB)

ELMHURST, Ill. – This summer's Summit Uni Madness competition continues with the second semifinal matchup featuring the No. 4 seed South Dakota State (men's basketball) vs. No. 8 Western Illinois (softball). Decide who will advance to the championship round by voting HERE, now through Thursday, July 27.

Results of the South Dakota State-Western Illinois matchup will be announced Friday, July 28. The winner advances to the championship to face South Dakota (men's golf) with voting beginning July 31.

The Jackrabbits' men's basketball uniform received 39.1 percent of the votes among SDSU's four entries in the school round. The Fighting Leathernecks' softball uniform garnered 31.1 percent of the WIU vote.

Summit League Uni Madness is a bracketed competition to determine the league's "hottest" summer look. Each league member nominated four uniforms with the one receiving the highest vote in the school voting round advancing as that institution's representative in the final nine-team field. Quarterfinal rounds began June 26 with semifinals commencing July 17 and the championship scheduled for the week of July 31.

Follow all the contest matchups and results throughout the summer at www.thesummitleague.org/unimadness and on Twitter @thesummitleague using the hashtag #SummitUniMadness.

Through 35 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 100,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University with the University of North Dakota becoming an official member on July 1, 2018. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced nine NCAA Champions along with over 90 Academic All-Americans, nearly 100 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit www.thesummitleague.org website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.


Behind The Desk: Tom Douple
August 16, 2016 Behind The Desk: Tom Douple