ORU's Green Named Men's Basketball Player of the Year

Files associated with this release:
2007 Men's Basketball All-Conference Team

ORU's Green Named Men's Basketball Player of the Year

Oral Roberts' Caleb Green

Oral Roberts' Marchello Vealy

IUPUI's Austin Montgomery

Southern Utah's Justin Allen

Oakland's Greg Kampe

ELMHURST, Ill. - Oral Roberts' Caleb Green became just the 15th Division I men's basketball player to be named conference player of the year three times when he earned the Mid-Continent Conference's top honor for the third year in a row today, as voted on by the league's eight head coaches, sports information directors and selected media members. Green also becomes the first-ever four-time first-team All-Mid-Con honoree in the 25-year history of the league.

Oral Roberts' Marchello Vealy garnered Sixth Man of the Year accolades, while IUPUI's Austin Montgomery was tabbed as the Newcomer of the Year. Southern Utah's Justin Allen was selected as the Defensive Player of the Year and Oakland's Greg Kampe was selected as the Coach of the Year. The Golden Grizzlies landed the most players on the all-conference teams with five selections, while IUPUI had four. Oral Roberts and Valparaiso both landed three all-star choices each.

Green takes home the Player of the Year award for the third year in a row after leading Oral Roberts to its third-straight regular-season title. The senior forward leads the Mid-Con in scoring (20.2) and rebounding (9.5) and ranks in the Top 10 in the league in field goal percentage (.503), steals (1.47) and minutes played (35.0). In conference action, the three-time Player of the Week accounted for 20.4 points and 9.5 rebounds per outing, both of which led the league. He has also posted a Mid-Con best 17 20-point games and 15 double-doubles on the season.

Green's teammate, Vealy, was an effective member off the Oral Roberts bench in conference play, which led to his selection as the Sixth Man of the Year. The sophomore forward is the first Golden Eagle to win sixth man accolades in the five-year history of the award. Vealy accounted for 8.2 points and 5.5 rebounds in 13 appearances against conference foes, all off the bench. He ranked fourth in the Mid-Con in blocks (0.85), fifth in field goal percentage (.580) and seventh in rebounding. He was also named Mid-Con Player of the Week on Jan. 29.

Montgomery is the first-ever IUPUI player to garner Newcomer of the Year honors. He ranked fifth in the conference in free throw percentage (.853), sixth in three-point field goal percentage (.441), eighth in three-point field goal average (1.9), ninth in both scoring (13.6) and rebounding (5.1) and 10th in field goal percentage (.504).

Allen is tabbed as the Defensive Player of the Year after averaging 1.1 steals per game. However, the senior's impact was seen more in the statistics of the players he guarded, as he held UMKC's Quinton Day to just 7-of-35 (20 percent) shooting in two meetings, including a 3-of-18 performance in Cedar City. He also limited Oral Roberts' Ken Tutt to 7-of-26 (27 percent) shooting over two games.

Kampe is honored as the Coach of the Year for the second time in his career (1999-2000) after guiding Oakland from a seventh-place finish a year ago to second place this season. Picked to finish fifth in the preseason poll, the Golden Grizzlies have made a six-game improvement from a year ago. Oakland also tied the school record for wins as a Division I program.

Oral Roberts landed a league-best two recipients on the all-conference first team, led by Green and the senior guard Tutt (14.9 pts., 3.4 rebs., 2.9 asts.). UMKC's senior guard Day (14.7 pts., 4.5 rebs., 4.1 asts.) makes his third appearance on the team, while Southern Utah's Steve Barnes (11.9 pts., 6.0 asts., 3.4 rebs.) and Oakland's Vova Severovas (16.0 pts., 6.4 rebs., .518 FG%) are repeat all-conference selections after both were honorable mention picks a year ago. Centenary's Alexander Starr (17.1 pts., 6.4 rebs.) rounds out the first team. Green and Day are the only repeat first-team All-Mid-Con selections.

The all-conference second team honorees include: Montgomery, Centenary sophomore guard Tyrone Hamilton (16.4 pts., 3.9 rebs.), UMKC senior forward Dee Ayuba (13.4 pts., 5.0 rebs.), Oakland sophomore guard Erik Kangas (14.7 pts., 52 3FGM) and Valparaiso sophomore forward Urule Igbavboa (12.1 pts., .588 FG%, 7.1 rebs.). Ayuba is the only repeat perfomer, as he was an honorable mention pick last season.

The Mid-Con honorable mention team members are: IUPUI senior forward David Barlow (11.4 pts., 4.5 rebs., .882 FT%), Oakland junior center Shawn Hopes (12.0 pts., 4.9 rebs., .565 FG%), sophomore forward Derick Nelson (11.6 pts., 8.5 rebs.), Valparaiso senior forward Shawn Huff (11.1 pts., 3.5 rebs.) and Western Illinois junior guard David Jackson (10.5 pts., 3.8 rebs.).

The All-Newcomer Team includes IUPUI's Montgomery and sophomore guard Gary Patterson (16.1 pts., 2.8 asts., .520 3FG%), Oakland freshman guard Johnathon Jones (10.4 pts., 3.1 asts.), Oral Roberts junior center Shawn King (8.8 pts., .704 FG%) and Valparaiso freshman guard Samuel Haanpaa (12.4 pts., 4.8 rebs.).

* Statistics given are from Mid-Con games only.

2006-07 Mid-Con Men's Basketball All-Conference Teams
FIRST TEAMName, School Pos. Yr. Hometown
Steve Barnes, Southern Utah G Sr. Cedar City, UtahQuinton Day, UMKC G Sr. Kansas City, Mo.Caleb Green, Oral Roberts F Sr. Tulsa, Okla.Vova Severovas, Oakland F Sr. Vilnius, LithuaniaAlexander Starr, Centenary F Sr. Dallas, TexasKen Tutt, Oral Roberts G Sr. Garland, Texas SECOND TEAMName, School Pos. Yr. HometownDee Ayuba, UMKC F Sr. Oklahoma City, Okla.Tyrone Hamilton, Centenary G So. Shreveport, La.Erik Kangas, Oakland G So. DeWitt, Mich.Urule Igbavboa, Valparaiso F So. Oakdale, Minn.Austin Montgomery, IUPUI G Jr. Indianapolis, Ind. HONORABLE MENTIONName, School Pos. Yr. HometownDavid Barlow, IUPUI F Sr. Indianapolis, Ind.David Jackson, Western Illinois G Jr. Memphis, Tenn.Shawn Hopes, Oakland C Jr. Detroit, Mich.Shawn Huff, Valparaiso G Jr. Helsinki, FinlandDerick Nelson, Oakland F So. Lansing, Mich. ALL-NEWCOMER Name, School Pos. Yr. HometownSamual Haanpaa, Valparaiso G Fr. Kerava, FinlandJohnathon Jones, Oakland G Fr. Okemos, Mich.Shawn King, Oral Roberts C Jr. Bequia, St. VincentAustin Montgomery, IUPUI G Jr. Indianapolis, Ind.Gary Patterson, IUPUI G So. East Chicago, Ind. PLAYER OF THE YEARCaleb Green, Oral Roberts SIXTH MAN OF THE YEARMarchello Vealy, Oral Roberts NEWCOMER OF THE YEARAustin Montgomery, IUPUI DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEARJustin Allen, Southern Utah COACH OF THE YEARGreg Kampe, Oakland
Shipping Rates
December 1, 2007 Shipping Rates
Store FAQs
December 1, 2007 Store FAQs