Summit League SAAC Wraps Up Annual Meeting in Chicago

Summit League SAAC Wraps Up Annual Meeting in Chicago

ELMHURST, Ill. − The Summit League Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) concluded its ninth annual meeting in Chicago last weekend. Fourteen student-athletes from the league’s eight member institutions discussed The Summit League Food Fight initiative, exchanged ideas for improving their campus SAACs and reviewed NCAA legislation issues that affect student-athletes. 

The meetings also included a chalk talk education seminar about the use of performance-enhancing drugs and supplements by Brian Parker of the Taylor Hooton Foundation.

The committee also participated in a community service outing at Children’s Home and Aid Rice Family and Child Center, a non-profit organization designed to build a better life for children, youth and families dealing with poverty, abuse and neglect.  The student-athletes conducted a series of basketball, volleyball, soccer and track clinics teaching the children different skills and drills for each of the various sports.

Those student-athletes attending the conference were Lauren Bennett (South Dakota), Alexis Klug (South Dakota), Anna Labozan (Denver), Mariana Lopez-Owens (IUPUI), Nate Mattson (North Dakota State), Amy Mattingly (IUPUI), Steph Paluch (South Dakota State), Adam Pettyes (Denver), Lauren Psota (Omaha), Hailie Ripley (Fort Wayne), Tim Saltys (Fort Wayne), Heather Smith (Western Illinois), Fawn Weihl (South Dakota State), Kelley Wollak (Omaha).

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two  land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions, 62 All-Americans and 50 Academic All-America selections.

Follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague, @summithoops and @summitchamps