Summit League Fall Academic Distinguished Scholars List Released

Summit League Fall Academic Distinguished Scholars List Released

Distinguished Scholars List

ELMHURST, Ill. − With the first semester of the 2014-15 academic year complete, The Summit League has announced its Academic Distinguished Scholars for the fall season. A total of 269 Summit League student-athletes from five sports (men’s and women’s cross country, men’s and women’s soccer and volleyball) were recognized as Distinguished Scholars.

In order to be named a Distinguished Scholar, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.60 grade-point average in the semester in which they compete and must use a year of eligibility. 

IUPUI led the way with a total of 37 student-athletes named Distinguished Scholars followed closely by South Dakota with 36 honorees and Fort Wayne with 34 recipients. Oral Roberts was fourth with 29 while Omaha, South Dakota State and Western Illinois tied for fifth with 28 student-athletes each named to the list. North Dakota State (22 recipients) and Denver (20 recipients) rounded out the squads. Associate men’s soccer member Eastern Illinois had seven student-athletes named to the list.

The complete list of the 2014 Summit League Fall Academic Distinguished Scholars can be found by clicking the link above. The full Summit League Academic Honor Roll will be released Friday. 

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 65 All-Americans, 60 Academic All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league and to “See The Summit”, visit, follow on Twitter @thesummitleague, download The Summit League’s Front Row app, and watch the weekly “Inside The Summit League” show at