Summit League Announces Fall Academic Honor Roll

Summit League Announces Fall Academic Honor Roll

Academic Honor Roll Release

ELMHURST, Ill. − With the first semester of the 2014-15 academic year complete, The Summit League has announced its Academic Honor Roll for the fall season. A total of 511 Summit League student-athletes from the sports of men’s and women’s cross country, men’s and women’s soccer and volleyball have been honored for their academic excellence.

IUPUI landed a league-best 68 student-athletes on the Academic Honor Roll list followed by Oral Roberts with 65 honorees and South Dakota with 60 recipients. Fort Wayne came in fourth with 58 selections while Omaha and South Dakota State tied for fifth with 53 honorees. North Dakota State (49 recipients), Western Illinois (47 recipients) and Denver (45 recipients) rounded out the list. Additionally, associate men’s soccer member Eastern Illinois placed 14 on the team.

In order to be selected to the Academic Honor Roll, a student-athlete must have a 3.0 or better grade-point average (GPA) in the semester in which they compete and must use a year of eligibility. In order to be named a Distinguished Scholar, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.60 GPA.

The complete list of the 2014 Summit League Fall Academic Honor Roll can be found by clicking on the link above. The list of Academic Distinguished Scholars was announced Thursday. 

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 65 All-Americans, 60 Academic All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league and to “See The Summit”, visit, follow on Twitter @thesummitleague, download The Summit League’s Front Row app, and watch the weekly “Inside The Summit League” show at