USD's Lewin, NDSU's Teschuk Named March Athletes of the Month

USD's Lewin, NDSU's Teschuk Named March Athletes of the Month

March Athletes of the Month Release

ELMHURST, Ill. -- The Summit League has selected South Dakota men’s track & field athlete Teivaskie Lewin (Montego Bay, Jamaica) as the Male Athlete of the Month and North Dakota State women’s track & field athlete Erin Teschuk (Winnipeg, Manitoba) as the Female Athlete of the Month for March.

Lewin collects his third consecutive Athlete of the Month award after earning First Team All-America honors at the NCAA Championships last month. The junior from Jamaica finished eighth in the 60-meter hurdles with a time of 7.81 to become the first South Dakota male athlete to become a Division I All-American. Lewin recorded the third-fastest time (7.77 seconds) in the preliminaries at the NCAA Championships, breaking his own school record. He was The Summit League’s Indoor Track Athlete of the Year last month, in addition to being named the Indoor Track Championship MVP.

Teschuk earns her second Athlete of the Month accolade this season after collecting a pair of First Team All-American honors at the NCAA Championships last month. She placed fifth in the mile run with a school record time of 4:32.35 and took seventh place in the 3,000-meter run with a time of 9:07.92. Her mile time of 4:32.35 was the 12th-fastest in NCAA Indoor Track & Field Championships history. Teschuk was named the league’s Indoor Track Athlete of the Year and the Midwest Regional Track Athlete of the Year by the USTFCCCA. On March 26, she ran 2:06.16 in the 800 meters at the UCR Spring Classic Invitational, a time that currently ranks ninth nationally and held second at the end of March.

Also nominated for the Men’s Athlete of the Month: Damon Pruett, IUPUI, track & field; Lawrence Alexander, North Dakota State, basketball; Anthony Sequeira, Oral Roberts; baseball; Zach Coppola, South Dakota State, baseball; Jake Moore, Western Illinois, baseball.

Also nominated for the Women’s Athlete of the Month: Roni Patterson, IUPUI, softball; Vicky McIntyre, Oral Roberts, basketball; Nicole Seekamp, South Dakota, basketball; Sydney MacDonald, South Dakota State, golf; Teagan Walsh, Western Illinois, softball.

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 65 All-Americans, 60 Academic All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league and to "See The Summit", visit, follow on Twitter @thesummitleague, download The Summit League’s Front Row app, and watch the weekly “Inside The Summit League” show at