Fort Wayne Awarded Sportsmanship Award for the Second Time

Fort Wayne Awarded Sportsmanship Award for the Second Time

Sportsmanship Award Release

Past Sportsmanship Award Releases

ELMHURST, Ill. – Fort Wayne has been honored by its fellow institutions with the 2014-15 Summit League Sportsmanship Award it was announced Tuesday. It marks the second time in school history that the Mastodons have earned the prestigious award with the 2011-12 academic year being the first.

The Summit League Sportsmanship Award is given annually to the institution that is judged by its peers to be the best in the league in living up to the ideals of sportsmanship. Areas for evaluation include student-athlete conduct, staff/administrator conduct, coaches’ conduct and event management.

Southern Utah has won a record five Sportsmanship Awards, followed by Centenary with three and Fort Wayne, Omaha and South Dakota State each capturing a pair of awards. IUPUI, Kansas City and Valparaiso have each earned the honor once.

Commissioner Douple presenting Fort Wayne Athletic Director Kelley Hartley Hutton with the Sportsmanship Award

Previous Sportsmanship Award Winners
Academic Year School
1998-99 Kansas City
1999-2000 Southern Utah
2000-01 IUPUI
2001-02 Valparaiso
2002-03 Southern Utah
2003-04 Southern Utah
2004-05 Southern Utah
2005-06 Southern Utah
2006-07 Centenary
2007-08 Centenary
2008-09 South Dakota State
2009-10 Centenary
2010-11 South Dakota State
2011-12 Fort Wayne
2012-13 Omaha
2013-14 Omaha
2014-15 Fort Wayne

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 65 All-Americans, 60 Academic All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league and to "See The Summit", visit, follow on Twitter @thesummitleague, download The Summit League’s Front Row app, and watch the weekly “Inside The Summit League” show at