#TheSummitLeague Releases Winter/Spring Distinguished Scholars List

#TheSummitLeague Releases Winter/Spring Distinguished Scholars List

Winter/Spring Distinguished Scholars Release

ELMHURST, Ill. − Following the conclusion of the 2014-15 academic year, The Summit League announced its Academic Distinguished Scholars for the winter and spring seasons. A total of 578 Summit League student-athletes from baseball, men’s and women’s basketball, men’s and women’s golf, softball, men’s and women’s swimming & diving, men’s and women’s tennis and men’s and women’s track & field were recognized as Distinguished Scholars.

In order to be named a Distinguished Scholar, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.60 grade-point average in the semester in which they compete and must use a year of eligibility.

Omaha led the way with a league-high 91 Distinguished Scholars just ahead of South Dakota’s 89 and South Dakota State’s 84 recipients. North Dakota State had 70 honorees with IUPUI totaling 65 Distinguished Scholars. Western Illinois (56 recipients), Denver (39 recipients), Fort Wayne (34 recipients) and Oral Roberts (30 recipients) rounded out the full-member institutional totals. Men’s and women’s swimming and diving associate member Eastern Illinois placed 20 student-athletes on the Distinguished Scholars list.

The complete list of the 2014-15 Summit League Winter/Spring Academic Distinguished Scholars can be found by clicking on the link above. The full Summit League Academic Honor Roll will be released Friday.

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 65 All-Americans, 60 Academic All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league and to “See The Summit”, visit www.thesummitleague.org, follow on Twitter @thesummitleague, download The Summit League’s Front Row app, and watch the weekly “Inside The Summit League” show at www.thesummitleague.org/itsl.