#TheSummitLeague Announces Winter/Spring Academic Honor Roll

#TheSummitLeague Announces Winter/Spring Academic Honor Roll

Winter/Spring Academic Honor Roll Release

ELMHURST, Ill. − With the 2014-15 academic year complete, The Summit League has announced its Academic Honor Roll for the winter and spring seasons. A total of 1,094 Summit League student-athletes from baseball, men’s and women’s basketball, men’s and women’s golf, softball, men’s and women’s swimming & diving, men’s and women’s tennis and men’s and women’s track & field have been honored for their academic excellence.

South Dakota State landed a league-high 169 selections on The Summit League’s Winter/Spring Academic Honor Roll, edging out South Dakota (165 recipients) by four. Omaha came in third with 140 selections, five more than North Dakota State’s 135 honorees. IUPUI landed 120 student-athletes to the list followed by Western Illinois (106 recipients), Oral Roberts (83 recipients), Fort Wayne (75 recipients) and Denver (72 recipients). Associate men’s and women’s swimming & diving member Eastern Illinois placed 29 student-athletes on the team.

In order to be selected to the Academic Honor Roll, a student-athlete must have a 3.0 or better grade-point average (GPA) in the semester in which they compete and must use a year of eligibility. In order to be named a Distinguished Scholar, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.60 GPA in the semester in which they compete and must use a year of eligibility.

The complete list of the 2014-15 Summit League Winter/Spring Academic Honor Roll can be found by clicking on the link above. The list of Academic Distinguished Scholars were announced on Thursday.

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 65 All-Americans, 60 Academic All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league and to “See The Summit”, visit www.thesummitleague.org, follow on Twitter @thesummitleague, download The Summit League’s Front Row app, and watch the weekly “Inside The Summit League” show at www.thesummitleague.org/itsl.