UNO's Keele, SDSU's Somsen Earn Top Baseball Honors

Omaha's Ryan Keele and South Dakota State's Layne Somsen
Omaha's Ryan Keele and South Dakota State's Layne Somsen

All-League Team Release | Baseball Championship Page | Bracket

Banquet Pictures

ELMHURST, Ill. - Summit League regular season champion Omaha, along with North Dakota State, led the way as both schools placed six selections on the baseball all-league teams. The awards were announced at the banquet Wednesday night and were voted on by the league's head coaches.

Omaha's Ryan Keele was named the league's Player and Newcomer of the Year, while his head coach Bob Herold earned Coach of the Year honors. South Dakota State's Layne Somsen received the Pitcher of the Year award.

Keele earns Player and Newcomer of the Year honors after leading the league with a .461 average in league contests and was ranked second in all games at .385. The transfer from Northwestern State University led the league in five offensive categories and was second in two at the conclusion of the regular season. He is first in home runs (6), runs batted in (33), total bases (89) and slugging percentage (.571), while ranking second in hits (60) and on-base percentage (.463). In league games, the senior outfielder was first in homers (5), doubles (8), runs batted in (24), total bases (66), on-base percentage (.519) and slugging percentage (.742). He had 22 walks and just 14 strikeouts in 187 plate appearances. Keele was a four-time Player of the Week recipient this season and helped lead the Mavericks to the regular season title.

Somsen records his first career Pitcher of the Year award after leading his Jackrabbit squad and ranking third in the league with a 1.91 ERA this season. The senior had a 4-4 overall mark this season with 73 strikeouts in 75.1 innings pitched while holding the opposition to a .202 batting average, which ranks second in the league. He has surrendered just 16 earned runs while tossing one complete game entering tournament play. Somsen earned the league's Pitcher of the Week award on March 18.

Herold captures his first Coach of the Year award after guiding Omaha to a 20-6 league record and 27-22 overall mark. The Mavericks won the regular season title in their first year in the league and just the second year at the Division I level. It was also Omaha's first Division I conference championship in any sport. The Mavs led the way in league games with a .332 batting average and were second as a pitching staff with a 3.82 ERA.

The Summit League Championship begins Thursday, in Rochester, Mich., with No. 1 South Dakota State facing No. 4 Western Illinois at Noon (ET), followed by host and second-seeded Oakland vs. No. 3 North Dakota State at 3 p.m. (ET). The double elimination tournament continues with three games on Friday and the championship game(s) slated for Saturday.



First Team
Name, School Pos. Yr. Hometown
Cory Buckley, Omaha 1B Sr. Bellevue, Neb.
Wes Satzinger, North Dakota State 2B Jr. Andover, Minn.
Tyler Splichal, Omaha 3B Jr. Bellevue, Neb.
Jameson Henning, Western Illinois SS Fr. Janesville, Wis.
Tim Colwell, North Dakota State OF Jr. Shoreview, Minn.
Ryan Keele, Omaha OF Sr. Bellevue, Neb.
Kyle Kleinendorst, North Dakota State OF Jr. Grand Rapids, Minn.
Alex Mortensen, Omaha C So. Omaha, Neb.
Daniel Telford, South Dakota State DH Sr. Newmarket, Ontario
Jon Hechtner, North Dakota State UTL Fr. Omaha, Neb.
Stephen Bougher, South Dakota State SP Sr. Papillion, Neb.
Jason Hager, Oakland SP Jr. Swartz Creek, Mich.
Layne Somsen, South Dakota State SP Sr. Yankton, S.D.
Russell Luxton, Jr., Oakland RP Sr. Oxford, Mich.
Second Team
Name, School Pos. Yr. Hometown
Steve Kedroski, Western Illinois
1B Sr.
Crystal Lake, Ill.
Clayton Taylor, Omaha
2B Fr. Omaha, Neb.
John Skrbec, North Dakota State
3B So. Grand Rapids, Minn.
Clay Hathaway, Fort Wayne
SS Sr. Show Low, Ariz.
Neil DeCook, Western Illinois
OF Jr. Kankakee, Ill.
Robby Enslen, Oakland
OF So. Middleville, Mich.
Tyler Shepherd, Fort Wayne
OF Jr. Tracy, Calif.
Caleb Fenimore, Fort Wayne
C Jr. Rushville, Ind.
Brett Bass, Omaha
DH Jr. Omaha, Neb.
Steve Lowden, Fort Wayne
UTL Jr. Fort Wayne, Ind.
Adam Bray, South Dakota State
SP So. Eden Prairie, Minn.
Aaron Michel, Western Illinois SP Fr. Decatur, Ill.
John Straka, North Dakota State SP Sr. Chaska, Minn.
J.D. Moore, South Dakota State RP So. Mississauga, Ontario
Player of the Year: Ryan Keele, Omaha
Pitcher of the Year: Layne Somsen, South Dakota State
Newcomer of the Year: Ryan Keele, Omaha
Coach of the Year: Bob Herold, Omaha