IPFW's Wirth, SDSU's Bray Earn Weekly Baseball Awards

Fort Wayne's Kevin Wirth and South Dakota State's Adam Bray (photo by Jose Juarez)
Fort Wayne's Kevin Wirth and South Dakota State's Adam Bray (photo by Jose Juarez)

ELMHURST, Ill. – Fort Wayne third baseman Kevin Wirth was named The Summit League's Baseball Player of the Week while South Dakota State starting pitcher Adam Bray was selected as the league's Pitcher of the Week for their performances Feb. 14-16.

Kevin Wirth, Fort Wayne

Sr., 3B
Flagstaff, Ariz. // Scottsdale CC

Wirth earns his first career Player of the Week award after leading Fort Wayne to a four-game series split at Alabama A&M. The senior third baseman had a pair of three-hit, four-RBI contests in the 5-2 and 10-5 Mastodon wins. He also added a hit and RBI in the series finale. For the week, Wirth batted .583 (7-for-12) with nine RBI and three runs scored. He added two extra base hits (double, home run) and a walk while slugging .917 with a .600 on-base percentage.

Also nominated: Aaron Machbitz, South Dakota State.

Adam Bray, South Dakota State
Jr., RHP
Eden Prairie, Minn. // Eden Prairie

Bray collects his first career Pitcher of the Week honor after earning the win over Texas Southern in the JSU Tournament. Bray tossed 6.1 innings with six strikeouts and no walks en route to an 11-1 South Dakota State victory. He retired the first nine batters he faced and surrendered just three hits and one earned run while improving his career record to 11-5.

Also nominated: Connor Lawhead, Fort Wayne.

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions, 62 All-Americans and 50 Academic All-America selections.

Follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague, @summithoops and @summitchamps