#TheSummitLeague Announces 2016 Baseball/Softball League Schedules

#TheSummitLeague Announces 2016 Baseball/Softball League Schedules

Baseball League Schedule
Softball League Schedule

ELMHURST, Ill. – The Summit League released its 2016 league schedules for the spring sports of baseball and softball it was announced today.

The double round-robin league baseball schedule begins March 18, consisting of a pair of three-game series' among the six Summit League teams. A few of the key baseball series' are outlined below. The 2016 Summit League Baseball Tournament is set for May 25-28, at J.L. Johnson Stadium in Tulsa, Okla.

  • March 18-20: South Dakota State at Oral Roberts (defending regular season and tournament champion)
  • March 18-20: Fort Wayne (tournament runner-up) at Omaha
  • March 25-27: Fort Wayne at Oral Roberts (first rematch of last season's championship game)
  • April 22-24: Oral Roberts at Fort Wayne (second rematch of last season's championship game)
  • May 19-21 (final week of the regular season): Oral Roberts at Omaha (last 17 regular season champions); South Dakota State at North Dakota State; Western Illinois at Fort Wayne

The league softball schedule is slated to start the weekend of March 25-26. A few of the key softball series' are outlined below. North Dakota State hosts the 2016 Summit League Softball Tournament at the Ellig Sports Complex in Fargo, May 11-14.

  • March 25-26: South Dakota (regular season and tournament runner-up) at Fort Wayne
  • April 2-3: North Dakota State (four-time defending regular season and two-time defending tournament champion) at IUPUI
  • April 30-May 1: North Dakota State at South Dakota (rematch of last season's championship game)
  • May 6-7 (final week of the regular season): Fort Wayne at Western Illinois; Omaha at North Dakota State; South Dakota at South Dakota State

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 75 Academic All-Americans, 65 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. In 2014-15, The Summit League ranked first for NCAA Graduation Success Rate in women's basketball and second in baseball. For more information about the league and to "See The Summit", visit the newly re-designed www.thesummitleague.org website, follow Summit League Basketball on Twitter @summithoops and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at www.thesummitleague.org/itsl.