Denver Selected As #SummitWGF Preseason Favorite

Summit League Men's Golf Championship (photo by Jeff Tuttle)
Summit League Men's Golf Championship (photo by Jeff Tuttle)

ELMHURST, ILL. – For the fourth consecutive year, Denver has been selected as the preseason favorite to capture The Summit League's women's golf title in a poll of the league's head coaches.

The Pioneers received all eight possible first-place votes for a total of 64 points, while South Dakota State recorded the final first-place tally. The Jackrabbits placed second in the poll with 57 points with Oral Roberts in third with 50 points.

#SummitWGF Notes

  • Only three schools have captured the league championship title in league history (Oral Roberts – 15, Denver - 3, North Dakota State - 1).
  • Denver's Jessica Carty (2016 Golfer of the Year and Championship MVP) returns with teammate Katharina Baratta (2016 Newcomer of the Year).
  • All five members of the 2016 All-Tournament Team will return. Denver's Baratta, Mariell Bruun, Carty, Jessica Dreesbeimdieke, and South Dakota's Brenna Lervick).
  • Each of the five golfers from the all-league first team will be back in action this season. Denver's Baratta, North Dakota State's Natalie Roth, South Dakota's Brenna Lervick, and South Dakota State's Hallie Getz and Megan Mingo.
  • Four-of-five golfers from the All-League second team return. Denver's Bruun and Carty, IUPUI's Aneta Abrahamova, and Oral Roberts' Kennedy Ishee
  • Entering the spring campaign, Denver has the league's lowest team stroke average (296.2), while North Dakota State's Natalie Roth is atop the league for individual scoring (72.9).
  • Five golfers enter the spring season having won at least one individual title during the fall campaign. Denver's Sophie Newlove (1), North Dakota State's Roth (1), South Dakota's Lervick (2), and South Dakota State's Mingo (1) and Getz (1).
  • Golfers from Denver and North Dakota State have won the last six Championship MVP awards.

#SummitWGF Schedule Notes

  • Denver opens the 2017 spring season Jan. 29 at the Arizona State Dual.
  • The regular season comes to a close April 16-17 with IUPUI and Western Illinois at the Crusader/Jaguar Challenge.
  • All nine Summit League teams will travel to Nebraska City, Neb., from April 23-25 for The Summit League Championship at the Arbor Links Golf Club. 



School (1st-place votes)


2016 Finish


Denver (8)




South Dakota State (1)




Oral Roberts




South Dakota




North Dakota State




Western Illinois












Fort Wayne



**Coaches are not allowed to vote for their own team.

Golfers to Watch

Jessica Carty, Denver – Sr.

  • 2016 Summit League Golfer of the Year, Championship MVP, and All-Tournament Team member
  • Shot a tournament record-low 69 at the 2016 Summit League Championship (shares titles with teammate Sophie Newlove)
  • Leads her team and is third in the League with a 73.6 stroke average during the fall season

Madison Chesnutt, Fort Wayne – Jr.

  • Leads the Mastodon squad with a career stroke average of 82.87
  • Recorded a pair of top-5 finishes last season
  • 2016 Summit League Commissioner's List of Academic Excellence recipient

Aneta Abrahamova, IUPUI – Jr.

  • Collected five top-10 finishes last season, including medalist honors at the Wooster Hilton Head Invitational
  • 2016 Second Team All-Summit honoree
  • Two-time Summit League Academic Honor Roll selection

Natalie Roth, North Dakota State – Jr.

  • Leads the Summit League with a 72.9 stroke average heading into the spring season
  • Shot a team-best 75.53 stroke average in 2016
  • 2016 First Team All-Summit honoree

Megan Vetrovsky, Omaha – Jr.

  • Leads the Maverick squad with a career 79.9 stroke average
  • Tied her career-low round score of 74 three times during the fall campaign
  • Summit League Academic Honor Roll recipient as a freshman

Kennedy Ishee, Oral Roberts – Jr.

  • Leads her team with a 74.5 stroke average going into the spring campaign
  • Posted three top-10 finishes in four tournaments during the fall season
  • 2016 Second Team All-Summit Member

Brenna Lervick, South Dakota – Sr.

  • Leads the Coyotes and is second in the League with a 73.14 stroke average heading into the spring season
  • Only golfer in the League with two individual tournament titles during the fall campaign
  • 2016 All-Tournament Team and First Team All-Summit honoree

Megan Mingo, South Dakota State – Sr.

  • Led her team and the League with a 74.8 stroke average last season
  • 2016 First Team All-Summit selection
  • Recorded a career-low 69 at the Chip-N-Club Invitational last season
 Anna Cullinan, Western Illinois – Sr.
  • Shot a career-low 73 at Ball State's Cardinal Classic during the fall season
  • Carded a career best two-round score (149) at the Creighton Classic in the fall
  • Enters the spring campaign third on her team with a 77.45 stroke average


Celebrating its 35th season of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 80 Academic All-Americans, 75 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at