DU’s Whyte and IUPUI’s Abrahamova Named Women’s Golfers of the Week

DU’s Whyte and IUPUI’s Abrahamova Named Women’s Golfers of the Week

ELMHURST, Ill. – Denver's Lauren Whyte and IUPUI's Aneta Abrahamova were named Summit League Women's Golfers of the Week for their performances during the week of March 22-28.

Jr.  // St. Andrews, Scotland

  • Earned her first career Golfer of the Week honor
  • Finished T-11th place out of 90 golfers with a 54-hole 219 (75-74-70) at the LSU Tiger Golf Classic
  • She placed above seven of the nation's top-100 ranked golfers with her 54-hole score, and tied with two others
  • The Pioneers tied for fourth place in the event after defeating four top-50 teams, including defending NCAA Champion Washington
  • Finished the week with a 73.0 stroke average

Jr.  // Bratislava, Slovakia

  • Earned her third career Golfer of the Week award
  • Collected her sixth top-10 finish of the year after taking third place out of 75 golfers with a 36-hole 146 (74-72) at the Saluki Invitational
  • Her 36-hole score is the lowest of her career
  • Finished the week with a 73.0 stroke average

Also nominated: Madison Chesnutt, Fort Wayne; Kennedy Ishee, Oral Roberts

Previous Honorees: September – Hallie Getz, SDSU; October – Brenna Lervick, South Dakota / Megan Mingo, South Dakota State; Feb. 1 – Mariell Bruun, Denver; Feb. 15 – Islamiah Fuad, South Dakota State; Feb. 22 – Mariell Bruun, Denver; March 1 – Kennedy Ishee, Oral Roberts; March 8 – Megan Mingo, South Dakota State; March 15 – Teresa Toscano, South Dakota State, March 22 – Megan Mingo, South Dakota State

Celebrating its 35th season of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 80 Academic All-Americans, 75 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit www.thesummitleague.org website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at www.thesummitleague.org/itsl.