DU’s Bruun and USD’s Lervick Selected as Women’s Golfers of the Week

DU’s Bruun and USD’s Lervick Selected as Women’s Golfers of the Week

ELMHURST, Ill. – Denver's Mariell Bruun and South Dakota's Brenna Lervick were named Summit League Women's Golfers of the Week for their performances during the week of March 29-April 4.

Sr.  // Larvick, Norway

  • Earned her third Golfer of the Week honor on the season
  • Finished in first place out of 10 golfers with a 36-hole 143 (71-72) at the Pioneer Invitational
  • Finished the week with a 71.5 stroke average

Sr.  // Chanhassen, Minn.

  • Earned her first Golfer of the Week award on the season, in addition to Golfer of the Month in October
  • Collected her fifth top-5 finish of the year after taking second place out of 62 golfers with a 54-hole 216 (71-72-73) at the Bradley Invitational
  • Her 54-hole score is her lowest on the season
  • Finished the week with a 72.0 stroke average

Also nominated: Monica Dorner, Fort Wayne; Heidi Steinert, IUPUI; Allie Leingang, Western Illinois

Previous Honorees: September – Hallie Getz, SDSU; October – Brenna Lervick, South Dakota / Megan Mingo, South Dakota State; Feb. 1 – Mariell Bruun, Denver; Feb. 15 – Islamiah Fuad, South Dakota State; Feb. 22 – Mariell Bruun, Denver; March 1 – Kennedy Ishee, Oral Roberts; March 8 – Megan Mingo, South Dakota State; March 15 – Teresa Toscano, South Dakota State; March 22 – Megan Mingo, South Dakota State; March 29 – Lauren Whyte, Denver / Aneta Abrahamova, IUPUI

Celebrating its 35th season of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 80 Academic All-Americans, 75 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit www.thesummitleague.org website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at www.thesummitleague.org/itsl.