Five Things to Know: #SummitWGF Championship

Five Things to Know:  #SummitWGF Championship

Championship Page | Twitter

NEBRASKA CITY, Neb. – The Summit League Women's Golf Championship is set to begin at ArborLinks Golf Club in Nebraska City, Neb. this weekend.

The championship begins Sunday, April 23 and concludes on Tuesday, April 25 with one round of golf per day. The first tee-time is slated for 8 a.m. each day.

Full information is available on the Women's Golf Championship web page at Results will be available on The Summit League's website with updates on Twitter @summitchamps. Live results of the championship meet will be available via GolfStat.

Five Things to Know for The Summit League Women's Golf Championship

1)     Denver is looking to claim its fourth consecutive championship title. The Pioneers have won their conference championship each of the last 13 years among three different leagues (Sun Belt, WAC, Summit League).

2)     Only three teams have claimed the championship title since The Summit League began sponsoring the sport in 1998. Oral Roberts won the tournament from 1998-2012, North Dakota State captured the title in 2013 and Denver has won it in 2014-16.

3)     South Dakota State enters the tournament with the lowest team stroke average (299.1), while Denver follows closely in second with a 300.2. In third is Oral Roberts (304.1), followed by North Dakota State (306.8), Western Illinois (310.1), South Dakota (310.7), IUPUI (318.4), Omaha (320.7), and Fort Wayne (325.7).

4)     Denver and South Dakota State both enter the tournament ranked in the Top-75 in the Golfstat and Golfweek national polls. Denver is ranked 51st (Golfstat) and 52nd (Golfweek), while South Dakota State ranks 71st (Golfweek) and 73rd (Golfstat).

5)     Eight All-League performers from last year return to the links this weekend, including the reigning Golfer of the Year, Jessica Carty of Denver. Meanwhile, four of the 2016 all-tournament team selections also return.

Celebrating its 35th season of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 80 Academic All-Americans, 75 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at