SDSU's Mingo Ties #SummitWGF Tournament Record on Day One

SDSU's Mingo Ties #SummitWGF Tournament Record on Day One

The Basics
Team Leader: Denver
Individual Leader: Megan Mingo, South Dakota State
Location: ArborLinks Golf Course – Nebraska City, Neb.


NEBRASKA CITY, Neb. – Denver holds a one-stroke lead over South Dakota State following round one at The Summit League Women's Golf Championship at the ArborLinks Golf Course in Nebraska City, Neb., Sunday.

All five Denver golfers finished the day in the top five, and are joined by two South Dakota State players and one from IUPUI.

South Dakota State's Megan Mingo tied the individual League tournament record with her opening round 69. She shares the record with Denver's Jessica Carty and Sophie Newlove, who set the mark at last year's championship. Carty is currently in second place (72), while Newlove is in third (74).

The Jackrabbits' Teresa Toscano, IUPUI's Aneta Abrahamova, and Denver's Mariell Bruun, Lauren Whyte, and Jessica Dreesbeimdieke are all tied for fourth with a first round 75.

News & Notes

  • South Dakota State's Megan Mingo tied the individual league tournament record for lowest round with a 69.
  • Denver (296) and South Dakota State (297) are separated by just one stroke for the tournament lead
  • Position's 3-7 are separated by just 10 strokes
  • Mingo and DU's Jessica Carty are the only golfers to register par or better on the day, and each recorded a round-one-high six birdies
  • At least one birdie was recorded on every hole throughout the course during round one
  • Six of the top-10 individuals following day one were named all-league selections


Team Standings

1. Denver -- 296
2. South Dakota State – 297
3. IUPUI – 312
4. Oral Roberts – 313
5. North Dakota State – 317
6. South Dakota – 319
7. Western Illinois – 322
8. Omaha – 323
9. Fort Wayne – 329

Up Next
Second round play begins Tuesday, with an 8 a.m. CT start off hole No. 1. The entire championship can be followed on live stats via Golfstat.


Celebrating its 35th season of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 80 Academic All-Americans, 75 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at