Five Things to Know: #SummitMGF Championship

Five Things to Know: #SummitMGF Championship

Championship Page | Twitter

NEWTON, Kan. – For the second straight year, The Summit League Men's Golf Championship tees-off at the Sand Creek Station Golf Course in Newton, Kan.

The championship begins Sunday and concludes on Tuesday with one round of golf per day. The first tee-time is slated for 8 a.m. daily.

Full information is available on the Men's Golf Championship web page at Results will be available on The Summit League's website with updates on Twitter @summitchamps. Live results of the championship meet will be available via GolfStat.

Five Things to Know for The Summit League Men's Golf Championship

1)    Five different schools have won the league championship in the last five years while six different institutions have earned the crown over the last seven years.

2)    An IUPUI golfer has claimed Championship MVP honors four out of the last six years. Meanwhile, a golfer from a different school has been named Golfer of the Year six out of the last seven seasons.

3)    Western Illinois owns a league record eight Summit League Tournament titles (1983-85, 1987, 2004, 2006-08). South Dakota State claimed its first ever title last season after a trio of third-place finishes from 2013-15.

4)    Denver (No. 115, Golfstat) and Oral Roberts (No. 186, Golfstat) are the league's highest ranked institutions in the national polls.

5)    A total of five all-league performers from a year ago will return to the links this season with three all-tournament team honorees back.

Celebrating its 35th season of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 80 Academic All-Americans, 75 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at