ORU Holds Six-Stroke Lead at #SummitMGF Championship

ORU Holds Six-Stroke Lead at #SummitMGF Championship

Day One ResultsMen's Golf Championship Page

The Basics
Team Leader: Oral Roberts
Individual Leader: Grant Smith, South Dakota State
Location: Sand Creek Station Golf Course – Newton, Kan.

NEWTON, Kan. – Oral Roberts holds a six-stroke lead entering the final round of The Summit League Men's Golf Championship Monday at Sand Creek Station Golf Course in Newton, Kan.

After firing a 297 early in the day, the Golden Eagles shot a tournament-best 289 in round two behind three even-pars (72) from Hunter Laughlin, Jack Howes and Mike Biata. Howes is currently in second place with a 36-hole score 145. Biata and his teammate Cody Burrows are in a nine-way tie for fifth (147).

South Dakota State's Grant Smith is the individual leader with a 144 (71-73). His 144 is tied for second in league history following 36 holes.

Omaha's Ben Maskus made the biggest jump from round one to round two. After firing a 78 in the first round, the senior fired a second round 68 to jump up 28 spots in a tie for third.

Maskus is tied with South Dakota's Cody Seal (146), who moved up 21 spots (77-69) between rounds.

News & Notes

  • South Dakota State Grant Smith's 144 is tied for the second-lowest 36-hole score in league history.
  • Omaha's Ben Maskus made the largest jump between round one and two, moving up 28 spots.
  • Oral Roberts' 586 is the lowest team score in league history after 36 holes.
  • Denver's Chris Korte recorded the lone eagle on the day with a three on the par-5 No. 16 in round two.
  • The par-4 No. 5 hole saw the most birdies in the two rounds with a total of 25.

Team Standings
1. Oral Roberts -- 586 (297-289)
2. North Dakota State – 592 (298-294
3. South Dakota State – 593 (293-300)
4. South Dakota – 597 (308-289)
5. Denver – 601 (305-296)
6. IUPUI – 602 (300-302)
7. Fort Wayne – 606 (304-302)
8. Western Illinois – 609 (307-302)
9. Omaha – 614 (313-301)

Up Next
The third and final round begins Tuesday, with an 8 a.m. CT start off hole No. 1. The entire championship can be followed on live stats via Golfstat.

Celebrating its 35th season of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 80 Academic All-Americans, 75 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit www.thesummitleague.org website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at www.thesummitleague.org/itsl