Denver Women's Golf Finishes 12th at NCAA Regional

Denver Women's Golf Finishes 12th at NCAA Regional


Albuquerque, N.M. – ( The University of Denver women's golf team rose up two spots on the leaderboard to close the NCAA Regional in 12th on Wednesday. The Pioneers put up a 10-over-par 298 on Wednesday, their best round of the 54-hole tournament.

Par for the University of New Mexico Championship Course was 72.                      

Head coach Lindsay Kuhle went with the lineup of Jessica Carty, Mariell Bruun, Lauren Whyte, Jessica Dreesbeimdieke and Sophie Newlove.

No. 1 Stanford took home the team title with a 2-over-par for the tournament, seven strokes ahead of No. 9 Duke.

DU's 10-over for the round was the fifth-lowest team score for the day. The 12th-place finish was the best from the program since 2010.

"I'm really proud of our seniors today and Jess [Dreesbeimdieke] for a strong start and finish," Kuhle said. "Jess [Carty] was great today and played confidently. She had the putter rolling today, which was fun to see.

"Mariell finished well today and had a great last two holes. The conditions were once again difficult today and the Pios grinded it out to score well and finish this year strong. Really proud of how they competed and never gave up. We have a good sense of what we need to continue to improve heading into next season when it comes to our putting and short game."

Carty was dialed in for her final collegiate round. The senior fired a 1-under 71 in her last 18 holes as a Denver golfer to bring her up to a tie for 18th. She posted three birdies in her last round.

Bruun wrapped up her collegiate career tied for 27th with an 8-over 224 (75-74-75) score. The Norway native's last round was a 3-over 75.

Dreesbeimdieke closed out her season tied for 49th with a final-round 75, bringing her total to 12-over for the three-day event.

White and Newlove tied for 71st and 79th, respectively.

The Pioneers will return to action in the fall of 2017.


Celebrating its 35th season of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 80 Academic All-Americans, 75 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at