ORU’s Burrows Named Men’s Golfer of the Year

Oral Roberts' Cody Burrows, South Dakota State's Casey VanDamme & South Dakota's Tommy Vining
Oral Roberts' Cody Burrows, South Dakota State's Casey VanDamme & South Dakota's Tommy Vining

ELMHURST, Ill. – Oral Roberts' Cody Burrows was named the league's Men's Golfer of the Year following a vote of the head coaches it was announced today. 

Newcomer of the Year honors went to South Dakota's Tommy Vining while South Dakota State head coach Casey VanDamme earned the Coach of the Year accolade.

Burrows becomes the first Oral Roberts student-athlete to earn the Men's Golfer of the Year award since 2004 (Lyle Patton). The sophomore led The Summit League with a 72.43 scoring average and was named first team all-league and to the all-tournament team. He placed third at the league championship with an even-par 216 (74-73-69). The Chickasha, Okla., native totaled 11 rounds of par or better this season while earning a trio of top-five finishes and five in the top-10.

Vining collects the first Newcomer of the Year honor in South Dakota program history. The sophomore transfer led all Summit League newcomers with a 73.45 stroke average, which ranked fourth in the league. He registered 13 rounds of par or better on the year with a low round of 66 (Itani Quality Homes Collegiate) en route to being named first team all-league.

VanDamme earns the Coach of the Year award for the second consecutive season and becomes the first coach to collect back-to-back honors since 2009-10 (Lance Watson, ORU). He led South Dakota State to its second straight Summit League Tournament title and NCAA Regional berth. The Jackrabbits fired a 54-hole 877 (293-300-284) to win by two strokes and Grant Smith earned individual medalist honors under VanDamme's tutelage.

Celebrating its 35th season of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 80 Academic All-Americans, 75 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit www.thesummitleague.org website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at www.thesummitleague.org/itsl.