#SummitGF Golfers of the Month

#SummitGF Golfers of the Month

ELMHURST, Ill. – After their standout performances on the course this fall, North Dakota State's Natalie Roth and South Dakota's Tommy Vining were named the #SummitGF Golfers of the Month for September.

Roth began the season at the Omaha Invitational, securing the first-place individual finish with a 2-under-par 214 (71-73-70) scorecard. The Bison went onto win the team title in Omaha before earning their second victory of the fall season at the Battle at Old Works. There, Roth shot consecutive rounds of 73-70-72 for a 1-under 215 tally. The senior from Lake Park, Minn., finished one stroke shy of first place, settling for second individually. Roth ended the month with a 17-over 233 mark at the BC Intercollegiate.

In the month of September, Roth recorded two top-ten finishes, one individual victory and a round scoring average of 73.5.

On the men's side, Vining opened the season at the Washington State Itani Quality Homes Collegiate with a second-place, 11-under 202 scorecard. In fact, the junior from Sioux Falls, S.D., set a new Coyote record with a 7-under 64 round score during the second set of 18 en route to registering the program's second-lowest 54-hole tournament score.

Vining also logged scores at the Colorado State Ram Masters Invitational, placing 51st (11-over 221) and closing out the month of September with a 70.5 round scoring average.   

Natalie Roth, North Dakota State

Sr. // Lake Park, Minn.

  • 2017 Omaha Invitational Individual Tournament Champion
  • 2017 Battle at Old Works Individual Runner-Up
  • Guided Bison to two tournament team titles (Omaha Invite, Battle at Old Works)
  • Posted a 73.5 round scoring average in six rounds played

Also nominated: Kennedy Ishee (ORU), Lexi Petersen (USD), Sydney Bormann (SDSU), Lauren Whyte (Denver), Madison Chesnutt (Fort Wayne), Alex Krehbiel (WIU)

Tommy Vining, South Dakota

Jr. // Sioux Falls, S.D.

  • 2017 Washington State Itani Quality Homes Collegiate Individual Runner-Up
  • Set single-round program record at 7-under-par (64)
  • Set second-lowest 54-hole tournament score in program history (11-under-par 202)
  • Averaged a round score of 70.5

Also nominated: Jackson Howes (ORU), Andrew Israelson (NDSU), Alejandro Perazzo (SDSU), Chris Korte (Denver), Zach Schroeder (Fort Wayne), Kevin Gordon (Omaha), Trent Snodgrass (WIU)


Through 35 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 100,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University with the University of North Dakota becoming an official member on July 1, 2018. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced nine NCAA Champions along with over 90 Academic All-Americans, nearly 100 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit www.thesummitleague.org website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.