Morrison and Wolters Receive AP All-America Awards

Morrison and Wolters Receive AP All-America Awards

 ELMHURST, Ill. - Oral Roberts' Dominique Morrison and South Dakota State's Nate Wolters were named Associated Press All-America honorable mention giving The Summit League its highest number selections since 1985.

Morrison, The Summit League Player of the Year, averaged 19.8 points per game this season, fifth-best in The Summit League and 19th nationally. He recorded 16 20-point scoring performances and led Oral Roberts to the league's regular season title with a 17-1 record.

Wolters finished one assist shy of becoming just the fifth player in NCAA history to average 20 points, six assists and five rebounds per game in a single season. He led The Summit League with 5.9 assists per game, ranking 19th nationally, and was second in the league in scoring (21.2 ppg) while placing eighth in the NCAA rankings. Wolters earned MVP honors at The Summit League Basketball Championship after leading South Dakota State to its first league title and NCAA Tournament appearance.

The Summit League last placed multiple players on the AP All-America list during the 1984-85 season when Eastern Illinois' Jon Collins, Northern Iowa's Randy Kraayenbrink and Cleveland State's Clinton Ransey and Clinton Smith were honored.

The complete 2012 Associated Press All-America teams are below:

First Team
Thomas Robinson, Kansas
Anthony Davis, Kentucky
Draymond Green, Michigan State
Jared Sullinger, Ohio State
Doug McDermott, Creighton

Second Team
Isaiah Canaan, Murray State
Marcus Denmon, Missouri
Tyler Zeller, North Carolina
Jae Crowder, Marquette
Kevin Jones, West Virginia

Third Team
Michael Kidd-Gilchrist, Kentucky
Tyshawn Taylor, Kansas
John Jenkins, Vanderbilt
Kendall Marshall, North Carolina
Damian Lillard, Weber State

Honorable Mention
Harrison Barnes, North Carolina; Will Barton, Memphis; Julian Boyd, LIU Brooklyn; Ryan Broekhoff, Valparaiso; De'Mon Brooks, Davidson, Trey Burke, Michigan; Deonte Burton, Nevada; Torrey Craig, S.C.-Upstate; Paul Crosby, Mississippi Valley State; Matthew Dellavedova, Saint Mary's, LaRon Dendy, Middle Tennessee; Matt Dickey, UNC Asheville; Jamaal Franklin, San Diego State; Jorge Gutierrez, California; John Henson, North Carolina; Robbie Hummel, Purdue; Pierre Jackson, Baylor; Darius Johnson-Odom, Marquette; Perry Jones III, Baylor; Kris Joseph, Syracuse. Jeremy Lamb, Connecticut; Scott Machado, Iona; C.J. McCollum, Lehigh; Dominique Morrison, Oral Roberts; Mike Moser, UNLV, Andrew Nicholson, St. Bonaventure; Kyle O'Quinn, Norfolk State; Darryl Partin, Boston University; Ryan Pearson, George Mason; Mason Plumlee, Duke, Patrick Richard, McNeese State; Austin Rivers, Duke; Zack Rosen, Pennsylvania; Mike Scott, Virginia; John Shurna, Northwestern, Jordan Taylor, Wisconsin; Dion Waiters, Syracuse; Casper Ware, Long Beach State; Mitchell Watt, Buffalo; Royce White, Iowa State; Isaiah Wilkerson, NJIT; Nate Wolters, South Dakota State; Cody Zeller, Indiana.


Benson Makes NBA Debut
March 26, 2012 Benson Makes NBA Debut
Memory Lane
March 15, 2012 Memory Lane