Fort Wayne’s Gaines, Oakland’s Valentine Named Players of the Week

Fort Wayne’s Gaines, Oakland’s Valentine Named Players of the Week

Basketball eSource // @summithoops

ELMHURST, Ill. – Fort Wayne's Frank Gaines and Oakland's Drew Valentine were named Summit League Men's Basketball Players of the Week for their performances Jan. 28-Feb. 3.

Frank Gaines, Fort Wayne
Sr., G, Fort Lauderdale, Fla.
Gaines earned his second career award and first of the year after tying his career-high with 32 points and pulling down a season-best nine rebounds against Omaha. He connected on 11-of-19 shots (.579) against the Mavericks and 10-of-12 (.833) free throw attempts. Gaines added three steals and two assists in the Mastodons' lone contest of the week.

Drew Valentine, Oakland
Sr., F, Lansing, Mich.

Valentine garnered his first career honor after recording a double-double, including a career-high rebound total. He pulled down 16 rebounds, including seven offensive boards, and scored 14 points in Oakland's win at Omaha. Valentine made five-of-eight (.625) shot attempts, added four made free throws, two assists and one steal in his only game of the week.

Also nominated: Donovan Gibbs, IUPUI; TrayVonn Wright, North Dakota State; Justin Simmons, Omaha; Jordan Dykstra, South Dakota State.  

Previous honorees: Nov. 10  – Nate Wolters, South Dakota State; Nov.19  – Corey Petros, Oakland / Nate Wolters, South Dakota State; Nov. 26 – Taylor Braun, North Dakota State; Dec. 3 – Ceola Clark III, Western Illinois; Dec.10 – Taylor Braun, North Dakota State; Dec. 17 – Tony Fiegen, South Dakota State; Dec. 24 – Nate Wolters, South Dakota State; Dec. 31 – Lawrence Alexander, North Dakota State; Jan. 7 – Duke Mondy, Oakland / Terell Parks, Western Illinois;  Jan. 14 – Estan Tyler, Kansas City; Jan. 21 – Nate Wolters, South Dakota State; Jan. 28 – Travis Bader, Oakland.

Entering its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League features men's basketball teams from nine member institutions: Fort Wayne, IUPUI, Kansas City, North Dakota State, Oakland, Omaha, South Dakota, South Dakota State and Western Illinois. Known as the Mid-Continent Conference until 2007, The Summit League enjoyed unprecedented success during a 2011-12 campaign that included an all-time best final RPI ranking, the highest home attendance in league history, the most teams in postseason tournaments, a record total of all-district honorees and the NCAA scoring champion. For more information about the league and to "See The Summit", visit and follow Summit League Basketball on Twitter @summithoops.