DU's Dunk Named to MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

Denver Reagan Dunk
Denver Reagan Dunk

NSCAA Release

KANSAS CITY, Mo. (denverpioneers.com) -- University of Denver redshirt-senior right back Reagan Dunk has been named to the 2016 Missouri Athletic Club Hermann Trophy Watch List, the National Soccer Coaches' Association of America (NSCAA) announced on Wednesday.

In 2015, Dunk finished as a MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalist and an NSCAA Second Team All-America selection. Dunk is one of four 2015 semifinalists and one of 12 NSCAA All-Americans on this year's watch list.

The first Division I All-American in program history started all 19 matches as a junior for Denver in 2015, playing 1774 of DU's 1795 minutes in the campaign. Dunk finished 30th in the NCAA in assists in 2015 with eight. Of his eight assists, five were on game-winners.

On the defensive half, Dunk and the Pioneers back four allowed a 0.40 goals against-average, kept a 0.63 shutout percentage (12 clean sheets) and allowed just 2.5 shots on goal per game.

The 2015 Summit League Defensive Player of the Year has earned 55 CAPS, including 51 starts with the Crimson and Gold. In his career, Dunk has 17 points on two goals and 13 assists.

Near the end of the collegiate regular season, NCAA Division I coaches whose programs are current NSCAA College Services members will vote and the lists will be narrowed down to the top 15 players. College soccer fans will also have the opportunity to participate in the selection process, by voting for their favorite semifinalist in November at the MAC Hermann Trophy website, managed by LockerDome.

From that pool of 30, six finalists (three men, three women) will be chosen for the award. The winners will be announced in January.

For more information about the history of the MAC Hermann Trophy and a list of past winners, visit the MAC Hermann Trophy information page at the NSCAA website.

For more information about the history of the MAC Hermann Trophy, and news and video from previous MAC Hermann presentations, visit machermanntrophy.org.

Celebrating its 35th season of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 80 Academic All-Americans, 75 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit www.thesummitleague.org website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at www.thesummitleague.org/itsl.