ORU’s Riveros, DU’s Dunk Named #SummitMSOC Players of the Week

Oral Roberts' Santiago Riveros & Denver's Reagan Dunk
Oral Roberts' Santiago Riveros & Denver's Reagan Dunk

ELMHURST, Ill. – Oral Roberts midfielder Santiago Riveros was named Summit League Men's Soccer Offensive Player of the Week and Denver defender Reagan Dunk garnered the league's Defensive Player of the Week award for their performances during the season-opening weekend, Aug. 26-28. The honors mark the first weekly awards of the season.

Jr.  // M // Armenia, Colombia

  • Collected first career Offensive Player of the Week award
  • Played a role in three-of-four Golden Eagle goals in a pair of 2-0 shutouts over Incarnate Word and Michigan State
  • Assisted on the game-winning goals in both matches while playing all 180 minutes from midfield position
  • Totaled three points on the week from his three assists.

Also nominated: Alex Underwood, Denver; Davis Wegmann, Eastern Illinois; Jacob Murphy, Fort Wayne; Elvir Ibisevic, Omaha

R-Sr. // D // Dallas, Texas

  • Earned his third career Defensive Player of the Week selection
  • Led No. 15 Denver's backline that earned one point in a tie against No. 30 Monmouth and scored a 1-0 win over No. 25 Rutgers
  • Assisted on both Pioneer goals on the week
  • Led a DU defensive that allowed just one goal in two games and just one second half shot on goal for the week

Also nominated: Mike Novotny, Eastern Illinois; Raphael Kotzock, Fort Wayne; Ben Thornton, IUPUI; Joseph Ghitis, Omaha; Parker Johnson, Oral Roberts

Celebrating its 35th season of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 80 Academic All-Americans, 75 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit www.thesummitleague.org website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at www.thesummitleague.org/itsl.