FW’s Korperich, WIU’s Hansen Earn #SummitMSOC Players of the Week

Fort Wayne's Thilo Korperich & Western Illinois' Tim Hansen
Fort Wayne's Thilo Korperich & Western Illinois' Tim Hansen

ELMHURST, Ill. – Fort Wayne midfielder Thilo Korperich was named Summit League Men's Soccer Offensive Player of the Week, while Western Illinois goalkeeper Tim Hansen garnered the Defensive Player of the Week award for their performances, Sept. 6-11.

Sr.  // M // Duisburg, Germany

  • Earned his first career Offensive Player of the Week award
  • Totaled six points on three goals in a pair of games at the Evansville Tournament last week
  • Tallied the golden goal in the ninth minute of the first overtime period in a 4-3 victory against Bradley
  • Added the Mastodon's second goal in the 38th minute against the Braves
  • Converted a penalty kick in the loss to host Evansville on Sunday

Also nominated: Blake Elder, Denver; Fazlo Alihodzic, Omaha; Junior Chavez, Oral Roberts; Jacob Bevan, Western Illinois

Previous honorees: Aug. 29 – Santiago Riveros, ORU; Sept. 6 – Fazlo Alihodzic, UNO

Fr. // GK // Rhein, Germany

  • Received his first career Defensive Player of the Week honor
  • Collected a career-high six saves in his first collegiate start in the win over Bowling Green
  • Allowed just one goal with a .857 save percentage against the Falcons
  • Bowling Green was undefeated entering the match and receiving votes in the latest College Soccer News poll

Also nominated: Kortne Ford, Denver; Ben Thornton, IUPUI; Joseph Ghitis, Omaha; Baptiste Vandeputte, Oral Roberts

Previous honorees: Aug. 29 – Reagan Dunk, DU; Sept. 6 – Joseph Ghitis, UNO/Kortne Ford, DU

Celebrating its 35th season of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 80 Academic All-Americans, 75 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit www.thesummitleague.org website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at www.thesummitleague.org/itsl.