League Announces #SummitMSOC Awards

League Announces #SummitMSOC Awards

Championship Page | Banquet Photos

DENVER – The Summit League announced its men's soccer all-league awards at its annual banquet on Wednesday evening. Regular season champions Denver and Omaha accounted for all four of league's top individual player honors.

Omaha's Fazlo Alihodzic captured Offensive Player of the Year honors, while teammate Emmanuel Hamzat earned the Newcomer of the Year award. Denver's Reagan Dunk was named Defensive Player of the Year with Goalkeeper of the Year honors going to DU's Nick Gardner. Denver head coach Jamie Franks was named the Coach of the Year.

Alihodzic is the first Omaha player to capture Offensive Player of the Year honors since the Mavericks joined the league in 2012. The senior midfielder and three-time Player of the Week recipient was second in the league in both goals (8) and points (22) while leading UNO to a share of the regular season title and its first No. 1 tournament seed. He also has six assists which ranks third in The Summit League. Alihodzic recorded three game-winning goals and had 32 shots with a .250 shot percentage and .594 shot on goal percentage this season.

Dunk earns his second consecutive Defensive Player of the Year honor after anchoring a Denver defense that produced 11 shutouts and ranks fourth in the nation for shutout percentage (0.61). The senior also helped the Pioneers record a 0.47 team goals against average, which also ranks fourth nationally. He also added five assists from his backline position and was named Defensive Player of the Week twice this season.

Gardner becomes the second straight Pioneer to capture the Goalkeeper of the Year award and third all-time (Oliver Brown, 2013; Dan Jackson, 2015). The sophomore has collected 10 shutouts this season in his netminder position. His 0.50 goals against average ranks first in the league and seventh nationally. Gardner has a .719 save percentage on the year with 23 saves.

Hamzat was named Newcomer of the Year after tallying six goals and two assists for 14 points in the regular season. The junior transfer helped guide his Maverick squad to a share of the regular season title and top seed in The Summit League Tournament.

Franks collects Coach of the Year honors for the second consecutive year after leading the Pioneers to a 15-0-3 record and 5-0-1 Summit League slate. DU is one of two unbeaten teams in the nation (Maryland) and is ranked No. 4 in the latest NSCAA Top-25 Poll. In his first two years at the helm, Franks has led the Pioneers to back-to-back unbeaten regular seasons, the first team nationally to accomplish this feat since Clemson in 1977-78.

Overall, the Pioneers had the highest total of all-league selections with nine, including five first team honorees. Omaha came in second with five all-league picks, four being on the first team.

Joining Alihodzic, Dunk, Gardner and Hamzat on the all-league first team are Denver's Kortne Ford, Sam Hamilton and Karsten Hanlin, Fort Wayne's Zach Tom, Omaha's Joseph Ghitis and Seth Rinderknecht and Western Illinois' Jacob Bevan.


First Team
Fazlo Alihodzic (M), Sr., Omaha
Jacob Bevan (F), Sr., Western Illinois
Reagan Dunk (D), Sr., Denver
Kortne Ford (D), Jr., Denver
Nick Gardner (GK), So., Denver
Joseph Ghitis (GK), Jr., Omaha
Sam Hamilton (M), Sr., Denver
Emmanuel Hamzat (F), Jr., Omaha
Karsten Hanlin (F), Sr., Denver
Seth Rinderknecht (D), Fr., Omaha
Zach Tom (M), So., Fort Wayne

Second Team
Scott DeVoss (D), So., Denver
Blake Elder (F), Jr., Denver
Ben Fiddes (D), Jr., Western Illinois
Mark Moulton (M), Sr., Omaha
Mike Novotny (GK), Jr., Eastern Illinois
Fernando Pacheco (M), Jr., Western Illinois
Santiago Riveros (M), Jr., Oral Roberts
Andre Shinyashiki (F), So., Denver
Graham Smith (M), Jr., Denver
Oscar Uyamadu (F), Jr., Fort Wayne
Jacob Weiler (D), Jr., Omaha

All-Newcomer Team
Alex Castaneda (F), Fr., Eastern Illinois
Daniel Collins (M), Sr., Western Illinois
Blake Elder (F), Jr., Denver
Fred Frimpong (M), Fr., Omaha
Thibaut Giquel (GK), So., Oral Roberts
Emmanuel Hamzat (F), Jr., Omaha
Jonathan Huerta (M), Fr., Eastern Illinois
Tyler LaCourse (D), Fr., Oral Roberts
Anton Olsson (D), Fr., Eastern Illinois
Seth Rinderknecht (D), Fr., Omaha
Graham Smith (M), Jr., Denver

Offensive Player of the Year
Fazlo Alihodzic, Omaha

Defensive Player of the Year
Reagan Dunk, Denver

Goalkeeper of the Year
Nick Gardner, Denver

Newcomer of the Year
Emmanuel Hamzat, Omaha

Coach of the Year
Jamie Franks, Denver

Celebrating its 35th season of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 80 Academic All-Americans, 75 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit www.thesummitleague.org website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at www.thesummitleague.org/itsl.