DU's Dunk Named MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalist

Denver's Reagan Dunk
Denver's Reagan Dunk

NSCAA Release 

KANSAS CITY, Mo. (denverpioneers.com) – [4/3] University of Denver men's soccer right back Reagan Dunk has been named a semifinalist for the second-consecutive season for the 2016 Missouri Athletic Club's (MAC) Hermann Trophy, the National Soccer Coaches' Association of America announced on Tuesday.

Dunk is the only semifinalist that was also on last year's list of the 15 players remaining for the award. NSCAA College Services member coaches will vote on the 15 players. The top three vote-getters for both the men's and women's trophy will be announced as finalists later this month. Of the 15 semifinalists, six play for teams that are still alive in the 2016 NCAA Tournament.

A 2015 NSCAA All-America selection, Dunk has led a Denver defense that is first in the country in goals against average (0.48) and third in shutout percentage (0.59). A year after finishing 30th in the country in assists from his right back position, Dunk has added five to his career total in 2016, entering Friday's NCAA Quarterfinal against Clemson with 18 in his career, the third-most in Denver's Division I history.

The two-time Summit League Defensive Player of the Year enters Friday's match with 77 career appearances, including 72 starts, and has helped lead Denver to a 58-12-11 record over the last four years, the third best record in the country during that span. Dunk has also helped lead the program to back-to-back unbeaten regular seasons, the first program to do that since Clemson did so in 1977-78.

The MAC Hermann Trophy, the most coveted individual honor in NCAA Division I soccer, has been awarded annually since 1967. Most recently, Jordan Morris (Stanford) and Raquel Rodriguez (Penn State) received the award for outstanding intercollegiate performances during their 2015 seasons.

Three men's finalists and three women's finalists will be named on December 14 at the conclusion of voting by NCAA Division I soccer coaches. The 2016 MAC Hermann Trophy banquet will be held at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis on January 6, 2017 to formally announce this year's winners.

For more information about the history of the MAC Hermann Trophy, visit MACHermannTrophy.org.

The Missouri Athletic Club has been presenting college soccer's player of the year awards since 1986. The MAC was established in 1903 as an athletic, dining and social club. It has a "Platinum Club of America" status, which is awarded to the top private clubs in the country. To learn more about the Missouri Athletic Club, go to mac-stl.org.

Celebrating its 35th season of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 80 Academic All-Americans, 75 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit www.thesummitleague.org website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at www.thesummitleague.org/itsl.