Denver Claims Men's Tennis Championship

Denver Claims Men's Tennis Championship

The Basics
Score: No. 1 Denver 4, No. 2 Fort Wayne 1
Records: Denver (12-10), Fort Wayne (19-8)
Location: Colorado Athletic Club Monaco – Denver, Colo.

DENVER – Top-seeded Denver defeated No. 2 seed Fort Wayne, 4-1, to win The Summit League Men's Tennis Championship Sunday afternoon. The Pioneers claimed the league crown in their inaugural league season and advance to the NCAA Tournament.

The Pioneers took the doubles point behind victories by Eric Marbach and Yannik James (8-4) at No. 3 and Henry Craig and Alex Gasson, the nation's No. 58 ranked doubles team, (8-6) at No. 1.

Summit League Newcomer of the Year Diogo Rocha opened the singles scoring with a 6-0, 6-0, victory at No. 2. Gasson followed with a 6-3, 7-6 triumph at No. 3 singles to put DU ahead 3-0.

Fort Wayne's Daniel Kang defeated Summit League Player of the Year Henry Craig, ranked No. 102 nationally, in three sets (6-4, 3-6, 6-4) to draw the Mastodons within 3-1.

Alex Clinkenbeard then notched the clinching win for DU with a 6-2, 4-6, 6-4 triumph at No. 4 singles.

Turning Point

Gasson's 6-3, 7-6 victory at No. 3 singles put Denver up 3-0 and in control of the match.

Inside The Box Score

  • Kang became the first Summit League player to defeat Craig this season.
  • Gasson went 2-0 in Summit League Tournament matches and finished 6-0 against league competition this season.
  • Four singles matches (No. 1, 4, 5 and 6) finished after or in the third set.

News & Notes

  • Denver is the first school since 2008 to win both the men's and women's tennis tournament in the same season.
  • The Pioneers are the fourth consecutive No. 1 seed to win The Summit League Championship, a record for the present tournament format.
  • DU went 7-0 against Summit League competition this season, outscoring opponents 39-2 (IPFW scored both points).
  • Fort Wayne made its first appearance in the men's championship match.

Up Next
Denver awaits its NCAA Tournament opponent and location. The selection show will air live on on Tuesday, April 29 at 5 p.m. ET.