Summit League Adds Drake and Illinois State as Men’s Tennis Affiliate Members

Summit League Adds Drake and Illinois State as Men’s Tennis Affiliate Members

ELMHURST, Ill. – The Summit League announced the addition of Drake University and Illinois State University as affiliate members for men's tennis beginning with the 2017-18 academic year.

"We are very pleased to add two quality tennis programs to The Summit League," said Commissioner Tom Douple. "Drake and Illinois State have a successful history of league championships. Adding these programs raises the caliber of competition and will certainly strengthen Summit League men's tennis for years to come."

Drake and Illinois State will be immediately eligible for regular season and postseason championships along with all individual awards in their initial 2018 Summit League campaign.

Summit League men's tennis membership will now consist of seven teams: Denver, Drake, Illinois State, IUPUI, Omaha, Oral Roberts, and South Dakota State.

Drake brings to The Summit League a men's tennis program that owns a Missouri Valley Conference record nine regular season titles and is tied for the third-highest total with nine MVC Tournament championships. The Bulldogs have accounted for nine Player of the Year and nine Coach of the Year accolades in their Valley history.

The Illinois State men's program owns a pair of MVC regular season titles and its league history includes three Coach of the Year awards and one Player of the Year honor.

Celebrating its 35th season of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 80 Academic All-Americans, 75 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at