Omaha’s Grigorescu, DU’s Rocha Named #SummitMTN Players of the Week

Omaha’s Grigorescu, DU’s Rocha Named #SummitMTN Players of the Week

ELMHURST, Ill. – Omaha's Razvan Grigorescu and Denver's Diogo Rocha were named Summit League Men's Tennis Players of the Week for their performances April 4-10.

Fr. // Constanta, Romania

  • Earned his fourth career Player of the Week honor and second in as many weeks
  • His four weekly honors tie for the second-highest season total in Summit League history
  • Notched straight-set wins over IUPUI's Jose Calero (2 and 4) and Illinois State's Urh Krajnc Domiter (4 and 3) at No. 1 singles
  • Teamed for 6-1 victory at No. 1 doubles to help Omaha gain its first-ever victory over IUPUI
  • Improved season singles record to 14-3

Sr. // Lisbon, Portugal

  • Tied the all-time Summit League record with his ninth career Player of the Week award while garnering his first honor of the season
  • Defeated Wichita State's Marius Frosa (2 and 2) and Oral Roberts' Amar Saletovic (3 and 0) at No. 2 singles
  • Teamed for No. 2 doubles wins over WSU's tandem of Herzan/Inoue (6-1) and ORU's Koncz/Saletovic (6-3)
  • Improved season singles record to 11-4

Also nominated: David Beasley, IUPUI

Previous recipients: Jan. 24 – Razvan Grigorescu, Omaha; Jan. 31 – Bradley Luetschwager, IUPUI; Feb. 7 – Razvan Grigorescu, Omaha; Feb. 14 – Yannik James, Denver; Feb. 21 – Steven Christie, IUPUI; Feb. 28 – Alex Gasson, Denver; March 14 – Yannik James, Denver; March 28 – Yannik James, Denver; April 4 – Razvan Grigorescu, Omaha

Celebrating its 35th season of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 80 Academic All-Americans, 75 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at