South Dakota State to Face Colorado State in First Round of NISC

South Dakota State to Face Colorado State in First Round of NISC

NISC Tournament Information | South Dakota State Preview | South Dakota State Game Notes

ELMHURST, Ill. – For the first time in 22 years, the South Dakota State softball team is headed to postseason play. The Jackrabbits earned the #SummitSB automatic bid to the 2018 National Invitational Softball Championship after finishing second in both the regular season and postseason tournament.

South Dakota State will face Colorado State Wednesday at 4 p.m. CT as part of a four-team double-elimination regional May 16-18 in Greeley, Colo. Host Northern Colorado and Loyola Marymount will battle Wednesday night at 7 p.m. CT.

The losers of the first-round will compete in an elimination game at 1 p.m. CT Thursday, with the winners advancing to the Thursday semi at 4 p.m. CT.

The regional champion will head to the final double-elimination round of the NISC to be played at a site TBD May 23-26.

In its second year, the NISC features 17 teams that will compete at four first-round regional sites (Greeley, Colo., Las Vegas, Nev., Richmond, Ky., Conway Ark.). Operated by Triple Crown Sports in association with the National Fastpitch Coaches Association, the tournament features eight teams that won 30-or-more contests in the 2018 season.

The Jacks are 0-2 against Colorado State, with the last meeting coming in 2010 in Fort Collins, Colo. Fresh off its best regular season record (34-16) in history, South Dakota State ranks eighth nationally with a .322 average, with 87 doubles, 11 triples and 47 home runs.

Through 35 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 100,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University with the University of North Dakota becoming an official member on July 1, 2018. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced nine NCAA Champions along with over 90 Academic All-Americans, nearly 100 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit www.thesummitleague.orgwebsite, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.