Day One Complete at Swimming and Diving Championships

Day One Complete at Swimming and Diving Championships

2013 Summit League Swimming and Diving Championships // @summitchamps

Day One Results

ROCHESTER, Mich. – The 2013 Summit League Swimming and Diving Championships began Wednesday night at the OU Aquatic Center, as the seven women's and six men's teams participated in two relay events.  The Oakland men's and women's team lead at the conclusion of day one.

On the women's side, Oakland won the 200 medley relay in a league-record time of 1:41.56.  The OU relay team was made up of Karin Tomeckova, Alyssa Busch, Christine Seiple and  Allison Bellford.  The IUPUI relay team came in second with at time of 1:43.20 and Omaha finished third in its first league championship with a time of 1:44.23.  In the 800 free relay the top-three teams consisted of the same three as in the previous relay.  The Golden Grizzlies won in 7:24.35 with Vanessza Balogh, Sandra Czerska, Julieanne Stears and Nikki Flynn making up the winning team, while IUPUI took second (7:32.98) and Omaha finished third (7:37.06).

For the men, Oakland finished first in the 200 medley relay with time of 1:27.94.  Making up the OU relay squad were Anders Jensen, Tobias Hansen, Alex Aceino and Grant Harding.  Eastern Illinois finished runner-up in 1:32.23 and South Dakota took third with a time of 1:32.93.  The OU team of Jorden Merrilees, Amr el Sayed, Matyas Keresztes and Zach Johnson won the 800 free relay in 6:31.00.  South Dakota State claimed second (6:47.01) and IUPUI took third (6:50.96).

The championships pick up Thursday with preliminaries beginning at 11 a.m. ET and finals starting at 6 p.m. ET.

The championships can be followed via the live stats link on the Swimming and Diving Championships page and on Twitter @summitchamps.

Women's Team Rankings – After Day One
1. Oakland – 80
2. IUPUI - 68
3. Omaha – 64
4. Eastern Illinois - 58
5. South Dakota State - 56
6. South Dakota – 54
7. Western Illinois - 48

Men's Team Rankings – After Day One
1. Oakland – 80
2. Eastern Illinois – 64
    South Dakota State - 64
4. IUPUI - 58
    South Dakota - 58   
6. Western Illinois – 56

Entering its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 144,000 at nine universities, four of which are located in top 58 U.S. metro populations (Detroit, Indianapolis, Kansas City and Omaha). Member institutions include: Fort Wayne (Indiana-Purdue-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), Kansas City (University of Missouri-Kansas City), North Dakota State University, Oakland University, Omaha (University of  Nebraska Omaha), the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced 54 All-Americans, 37 Academic All-America selections and seven NCAA Championships. For more information about the league and its history, visit to "See The Summit" or follow on Twitter @thesummitleague.