Denver Men and Women Capture First League Swimming and Diving Titles

Denver Pioneers Men's Team - Photo by John Wijsman
Denver Pioneers Men's Team - Photo by John Wijsman

2014 Summit League Swimming and Diving Championships
Day Four Results

The Basics
Team Champions: M – Denver | W – Denver
Location: IU Natatorium – Indianapolis, Ind.

INDIANAPOLIS – The Denver men and women captured the 2014 Summit League Swimming & Diving Championships on Saturday, at the IU Natatorium in Indianapolis.

The Pioneers won 10 events (six men, four women) on the final day of the championships to earn the titles in their first year in the league. The men recorded a total of 1,018.5 points while the women tallied 1,017.5 points over the four days.

A total of five league records were broken Saturday. Denver's Dylan Bunch won the 1,650 freestyle in 14:59.58 while his teammate Tanner Krall won the 200 breaststroke in a league record time of 1:59.06.

Denver's Sam Corea won the women's 200 backstroke in record time (1:52.81) and teammate Drew Matthews also touched the wall in a league record 49.73 in the 100 freestyle race. Corea and Matthews also each recorded NCAA 'B' cut times.

The Pioneers' 400 freestyle relay team (Corea, Johanna Roas, Morgan Mullenix and Matthews) registered a league championship record finishing the race in 3:21.04.

Omaha's Morgan Stepp earned the first-ever event win at the league championships for the Mavericks. Stepp captured the women's 200 butterfly with a time of 2:04.06.

Meanwhile, South Dakota State's Emily Campbell earned an NCAA 'B' cut and league record time of 2:14.51 in the 200 breaststroke.

News & Notes

  • Denver's Dylan Bunch captured the men's 1,650 free title in a league-record time of 14:59.58.
  • DU's Sam Corea clocked a league record and NCAA 'B' cut time of 1:52.81 to win the 200 back, just 0.10 seconds shy of an NCAA 'A' cut time.
  • Denver's Drew Matthews won the women's 100 free in a league-record and NCAA 'B' cut time of 49.73.
  • South Dakota State's Emily Campbell earned an NCAA 'B' cut time of 2:14.51 in the 200 breast, while Tanner Krall of DU won the men's race in a league record 1:59.06.
  • Omaha's Morgan Stepp won the women's 200 fly in 2:04.06 for the Mavericks' first-ever event win at the league championships.
  • South Dakota's Greysen Hertting won the women's three-meter dive with a score of 270.85, sweeping the women's diving events
  • Denver's 400 free relay team (Sam Corea, Johanna Roas, Morgan Mullenix, Drew Matthews) captured a league record time of 3:21.04.

Team Standings

1. Denver – 1,018.5
2. IUPUI – 565
3. South Dakota State – 533.5
4. Western Illinois – 425
5. South Dakota – 392
6. Eastern Illinois – 277

1. Denver – 1,017.5
2. South Dakota State – 595
3. IUPUI – 517
4. South Dakota – 446
5. Omaha – 385.5
6. Eastern Illinois – 226
7. Western Illinois – 135


Men's 1,650 Free – Dylan Bunch, Denver (14:59.58)*
Women's 1,650 Free – Clara Jenck, Denver (16:39.40)

Men's 200 Back – Kyle Milberg, Denver (1:43.84)
Women's 200 Back – Sam Corea, Denver (1:52.81)*

Men's 100 Free – Kyle Robrock, Denver (44.87)
Women's 100 Free – Drew Matthews, Denver (49.73)*

Men's 200 Breast – Tanner Krall, Denver (1:59.06)*
Women's 200 Breast – Emily Campbell, South Dakota State (2:14.51)

Men's 200 Fly – Andrew Torres, Denver (1:45.90)
Women's 200 Fly – Morgan Stepp, Omaha (2:04.06)

Women's Three-Meter Dive – Greysen Hertting, South Dakota (270.85)

Men's 400 Free – Denver (3:00.36)
Women's 400 Free – Denver (3:21.04)*

*Summit League Championship record



Swimming Championship MVP
Kyle Milberg, Denver

Diving Championship MVP
Cody Watts, IUPUI

Newcomer of the Championship
Scott Bergstrom, Denver

Coach of the Year
Brian Schrader, Denver


Swimming Championship MVP
Sam Corea, Denver

Diving Championship MVP
Greysen Hertting, South Dakota

Newcomers of the Championship
Clara Jenck, Denver & Emily Campbell, South Dakota State

Coach of the Year
Brian Schrader, Denver

Up Next
League teams will send divers to the NCAA Diving Zones, which take place March 10th-12th in Minneapolis, Minn. (Zone D) and the 13th-15th in Columbus, Ohio (Zone C) and Colorado Springs, Colo. (Zone E).  Swimmers await NCAA selections as the women's qualifiers are set to be released March 5th and the men's March 12th.