Denver Sweeps Weekly #SummitSD Swimmer Awards

Denver Sweeps Weekly #SummitSD Swimmer Awards


ELMHURST, Ill. – Denver's Lauren Moden was named The Summit League Women's Swimmer of the Week for the first time in her career, while teammate Anton Loncar earned his third career Men's Swimmer of the Week honor. Both clocked event wins in dual meet against nationally ranked Minnesota.


Jr.  // Parker, Colo.

  • Named Summit League Swimmer of the Week for the first time in her career
  • Won the 50 free (23.62) in dual meet against No. 12 Minnesota
  • Touched third in the 100 back (58.11)
  • Helped both her 200 medley relay (1:42.74) and 400 free relay (3:29.40) take home second place

Also nominated: Naeleah Hadford, Omaha; Sabrina Sabadeanu, South Dakota; Kristin Erf, South Dakota State

Previous recipients: Oct. 10 – Sabrina Sabadeanu, South Dakota; Oct. 17 – Heidi Bradley, Denver; Oct. 24 – Morgan McCormick, Denver; Oct. 31 – Maddie Myers, Denver; Nov. 7 – Morgan Holt, South Dakota; Nov. 14 – Sabrina Sabadeanu, South Dakota; Nov. 21 – Erica Hagen, Western Illinois; Dec. 5 – Bailey Andison, Denver; Dec. 21 – Andi Johnston, Denver; Jan. 9 – Charlie Mechling, South Dakota


Sr. // Hillsboro, Ore.

  • Collected his third career Swimmer of the Week award
  • Swept the backstroke events at nationally ranked Minnesota
  • Clocked 49.13 in the 100 back and 1:47.23 in the 200 back
  • Placed fifth in the 50 free (21.22)

Also nominated: Matt Jacobs, Eastern Illinois; Dan Jacobson, South Dakota State

Previous recipients: Oct. 10 – Dylan Kirar, Valparaiso; Oct. 17 – Sid Farber, Denver; Oct. 24 – Stephen Calkins, Denver; Oct. 31 – Colin Gilbert, Denver; Nov. 7 – Hunter Padgett, South Dakota; Nov. 14 – Hunter Padgett, South Dakota; Nov. 21 – Matt Jacobs, Eastern Illinois; Dec. 5 – Sid Farber, Denver; Dec. 21 – Adriel Sanes, Denver; Jan. 9 – Steve Wascom, South Dakota

Through 35 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 100,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University with the University of North Dakota becoming an official member on July 1, 2018. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced nine NCAA Champions along with over 90 Academic All-Americans, nearly 100 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.