North Dakota State Sweeps Outdoor Track & Field Championships

North Dakota State Sweeps Outdoor Track & Field Championships

Outdoor Track & Field Championships Central | Results (HTML)

Video highlights courtesy IPFW Athletics Media Services

MUNCIE, Ind.  – North Dakota State won both the men's and women's Summit League Outdoor Track & Field Championships Saturday as competition hosted by Fort Wayne wrapped up on the Ball State University campus. The Bison women won their league-record sixth consecutive title while the men earned their fourth straight crown and fifth in the past six years.

NDSU's women finished with 230.50 points, well ahead of second-place South Dakota, which totaled 151.50. Omaha, with 143, finished third and South Dakota State (107), was fourth.

On the men's side, NDSU totaled 249 points with USD in second at 168. South Dakota State placed third with 133 and Kansas City was fourth at 121.

Five Summit League records were set on the final day of competition. North Dakota State's women's 4x100-meter relay team of Deborah John, Brittany Page, Ashley Tingelstad and Antoinette Goodman was victorious with a record time of 45.46, besting the previous mark set in 2003 by 0.40 seconds.  John also posted a record time in the 100-meter hurdles competition. Her win in 13.75 seconds equaled a league record set by NDSU's Whitney Carlson in 2010. Goodman  went on to an individual record of her own, winning the 200-meter dash in 23.85, 0.02 seconds better than the previous league record set in 2003. She also claimed a victory in the 100-meter dash with a time of 11.68 seconds, just 0.05 off the league record time.

The women's 400-meter hurdles also saw records fall as both of the top two finishers bested the previous league record time. South Dakota's Alexa Duling won with a time of 58.59 while Oakland's Breanna Peabody placed second at 59.42. Both times were ahead of the 2010 record of 59.49 set by North Dakota State's Whitney Carlson.

Kansas City's Courtney Frerichs rounded out the record performances on Saturday with a winning time of 16:42.63 in the women's 5,000-meter run. The time was over four seconds better than the previous league mark set in 2010.

Two women's field event champions were crowned with South Dakota State's Brooke Garner winning the discus throw (51.40m / 168' 8") and Omaha's Sami Spenner claiming the triple jump (12.61m / 41' 4.50").

Men's field events champions on Saturday included South Dakota's Peter Chapman in the pole vault (5.08m / 16' 8") and Coyote teammate Cody Snyder in the discus (56.11m / 184' 1"). Kansas City's DC Okonta claimed the triple jump with a distance of 14.79m (48' 6.25").

Relay victories went to North Dakota State's women in the 4x100m and 4x400m. South Dakota won the men's 4x100m and South Dakota State claimed the men's 4x400m.

Women's track champions from Saturday included: North Dakota State's Ashley Tingelstad (400-meter dash) and Paige Stratioti (800-meter run), and Omaha's Katarina Zarudnaya (1,500-meter run).

Additional men's track champions from Saturday included: North Dakota State's Matt Tetzlaff (110-meter hurdles), Travis Fitzke (800-meter run and 1,500-meter run) and Jerome Begin (400-meter hurdles), South Dakota State's Luke Leischner (400-meter dash) and Trent Lusignan (5,000-meter run), and South Dakota's Michael Burrus (100-meter dash) and Christian Nielsen (200-meter dash).

2013 Summit League Outdoor Championships Awards

Newcomer of the Championship: Christian Nielson, South Dakota
Coach of the Year: Don Larson, North Dakota State
Field Championship MVP: DC Okonta, Kansas City
Track Championship MVP: Travis Fitzke, North Dakota State

Newcomer of the Championship: Meghan Dennis, South Dakota
Coach of the Year: Ryun Godfrey, North Dakota State
Field Championship MVP: Sami Spenner, Omaha
Track Championship MVP: Antoinette Goodman, North Dakota State


Ryan Cutter, IUPUI
J.D. Smith, IUPUI
Joey Zielinski, IUPUI
Brady Adams, Kansas City
Cosmas Ayabei, Kansas City
Johnathon Barnett, Kansas City
Josh Butler, Kansas City
Terrone Garner, Kansas City
Richard McCoy, Kansas City
Jason Martion, Kansas City
D.C. Okonta, Kansas City
Daniel Prioleau, Kansas City
Zak Snow, Kansas City
Quinn Baumann, North Dakota State
Jerome Begin, North Dakota State
Brandt Berghuis, North Dakota State
Adam Coykendall, North Dakota State
Josh Eiler, North Dakota State
Blake Elsen, North Dakota State
Alec Espeland, North Dakota State
Travis Fitzke, North Dakota State
Ryan Jenson, North Dakota State
Beau Kashmark, North Dakota State
Brett Kelly, North Dakota State
Nathan Mattson, North Dakota State
Parker McKittrick, North Dakota State
Jesse Morrow, North Dakota State
Alex Neumiller, North Dakota State
Casey Orgon, North Dakota State
Tyler Parker, North Dakota State
Kole Seiler, North Dakota State
Matt Tetzlaff, North Dakota State
Jeff Aririguso, Oakland
Michael Burrus, South Dakota
Peter Chapman, South Dakota
Connor Fitzsimmons, South Dakota
Erik Hill, South Dakota
Brandon Kovash, South Dakota
Kyle McKelvey, South Dakota
Jeff Mettler, South Dakota
Chris Nielsen, South Dakota
Josh Petersen, South Dakota
Kevin Sarenhkhani, South Dakota
Cody Snyder, South Dakota
Jeremiah Ary, South Dakota State
Connor Berg, South Dakota State
Justin Carson, South Dakota State
Jared Foote, South Dakota State
LeAndre Kennedy, South Dakota State
Michael Krsnak, South Dakota State
Luke Leischner, South Dakota State
Trent Lusignan, South Dakota State
Levi Winkels, South Dakota State
Dominique Wright, South Dakota State
Cedric Cheeks, Western Illinois
Zach Glasebrook, Western Illinois
Nathaniel Marshall, Wetsern Illinois
Tynan Murray, Western Illinois
Glenn Powell, Western Illinois
Jamario Taylor, Western Illinois

Rachel Dincoff, Fort Wayne
Chantel Bethune, Kansas City
Briana Carter, Kansas City
Courtney Frerichs, Kansas City
Kimoya Hariott, Kansas City
Stephany Johnson, Kansas City
Patricia Miller, Kansas City
Michelle Momo, Kansas City
Shanelle Williams, Kansas City
Leslie Brost, North Dakota State
Antoinette Goodman, North Dakota State
Ashley Heinze, North Dakota State
Deborah John, North Dakota State
Melissa Kitching, North Dakota State
Emily Lesser, North Dakota State
Maddie McClellan, North Dakota State
Brittany Page, North Dakota State
Paige Stratioti, North Dakota State
Erin Teschuk, North Dakota State
Ashley Tingelstad, North Dakota State
Brecca Wahlund, North Dakota State
Brittni Hutton, Oakland
Breanna Peabody, Oakland
Kathie-Lee Laidley, Omaha
Lauren Psota, Omaha
Sami Spenner, Omaha
Katarina Zarudnaya, Omaha
Bethany Buell, South Dakota
Tansha Clarke, South Dakota
Meghan Dennis, South Dakota
Alexa Duling, South Dakota
Amber Eichkorn, South Dakota
Amber Ewers, South Dakota
Megan Glisar, South Dakota
Emily Grove, South Dakota
Megan Hilson, South Dakota
Analisa Huschle, South Dakota
Breanna Janovy, South Dakota
Tess Johnson, South Dakota
Ashley Sveum, South Dakota
Shelby Assmus, South Dakota State
Megan Bren, South Dakota State
Carly Carper, South Dakota State
Gina Fritz, South Dakota State
Brooke Garner, South Dakota State
Ashley Odegaard, South Dakota State
Kali Olson, South Dakota State
Amy Paulzine, South Dakota State
Dana LaRue, Western Illinois