USD’s Snyder, IPFW’s Beard tabbed #SummitITF Athletes of the Week

USD’s Snyder, IPFW’s Beard tabbed #SummitITF Athletes of the Week

ELMHURST, Ill. – South Dakota thrower Cody Snyder and Fort Wayne runner Brittany Beard were named Summit League Indoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week for their performances Feb. 16-22.

Cody Snyder, South Dakota

Sr. // Lake Andes, S.D.
Cody Snyder is named Summit League Track & Field Athlete of the Week for the first time in his career. The South Dakota senior threw a new personal best of 61 feet, 2.25 inches in the men's shot put as the Coyotes hosted the USD Twilight Meet in the DakotaDome on Friday. Snyder's mark was not only the best he had ever thrown, but it also broke school, state and DakotaDome records. The throw is currently tops in The Summit League this season.

Previous honorees: Dec. 9 – Sonwabiso Skhosana, Oral Roberts; Jan. 13 – Reinhard Ndlovu, Oral Roberts; Jan. 20 – Kyle McKelvey, South Dakota; Jan. 27 – Joey Zielinski, IUPUI; Feb. 3 – Teivaskie Lewin, South Dakota; Feb. 10 – Kyle McKelvey, South Dakota; Feb. 17 – Cal Lawton, South Dakota State/Brandt Berguis, North Dakota State.

Brittany Beard, Fort Wayne

So. // Angola, Ind.
Brittany Beard receives her second career Summit League Track & Field Athlete of the Week award and the first of the season after her performance at the Ball State Indoor Open. The sophomore broke her own Fort Wayne record in the 800m by more than three seconds after she posted a converted time of 2:13.12. The mark is a top-five time in the league this year and was good enough to win the event at the meet.

Also nominated: Danielle Waldner, South Dakota; Morgan Milbrath, North Dakota State.

Previous honorees: Dec. 9 – Rose Jackson, NSDU/Mary Wirth, SDSU; Dec. 16 – Stephanie Ahrens, Omaha; Jan. 13 – Madison Reynolds, ORU; Jan. 20 – Erin Teschuk, NDSU; Jan. 27 – Madison Reynolds, ORU; Feb. 3. – Erin Teschuk, NDSU; Feb. 10 – Emily Lesser, NDSU; Feb. 17 – Erin Teschuk, North Dakota State.

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 65 All-Americans, 60 Academic All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league and to "See The Summit", visit, follow on Twitter @thesummitleague, download The Summit League's Front Row app, and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at