Fort Wayne's Hyde Named Women's Basketball Player of the Year

Fort Wayne's Amanda Hyde
Fort Wayne's Amanda Hyde

Women's Basketball Awards Release

Women's Basketball Championship | @summithoops

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. -  Fort Wayne's Amanda Hyde was named The Summit League Player of the Year in a vote of the league's nine head coaches, sports information directors and select media members as announced on Thursday.

Western Illinois' Ashley Luke was named the Newcomer of the Year and South Dakota State's Katie Lingle was voted as the Sixth Woman of the Year. IUPUI's Dee-Dee Bellamy earned Defensive Player of the Year while her squad's head coach Austin Parkinson was named Coach of the Year. 

Hyde captures the first Player of the Year award in Fort Wayne history. Entering tournament play, the junior guard/forward leads the league scoring 18.7 points per game and is second in the league at 87 percent from the free throw line. She also leads her team by averaging 3.1 assists per game. On Nov. 29, she scored an NCAA Division I season-high with 43 points in a win at Southern Illinois, a total that now ranks third in the nation. That scoring output also tied the Mastodon school record and is tied for second in league history. Hyde is tied for the league-lead with two 30-point games and ranks second with 12 20-point contests. Nationally, the Findlay, Ohio, ranks 18th in free throw percentage (.872) and 34th  in scoring (18.7 ppg). Hyde earned two league Player of the Week awards and was recently named to the Capital One Academic All-America Second Team.

Luke becomes the third consecutive Western Illinois player to win the Newcomer of the Year (Sadie Webb, 2011; Saule Kontautaite, 2012). In league games, the freshman ranks second in rebounding (8.0 rpg), fourth in field goal percentage (.497) and blocked shots (1.1 bpg) and 10th in scoring (12.9 ppg). Luke also leads her Leatherneck squad with five double-doubles and was twice named The Summit League's Player of the Week.

Bellamy earns Defensive Player of the Year honors after leading an IUPUI team that ranks first in scoring defense (54.6 ppg), three-point field goal percentage defense (.215) and steals (9.1 spg) in league games. The junior guard averages 1.2 steals per contest and becomes the first Jaguar player to win the award since Jernisha Cann collected three-straight from 2007-09.

Lingle was named the league's Sixth Woman of the Year after averaging 9.1 points in league games and helping the Jackrabbits to its second-straight regular season league title. The senior center is also third in field goal percentage (.512) and blocked shots (1.3 bpg) in league contests.

Parkinson collects his first career Coach of the Year award after guiding IUPUI to a 19-10 overall and 12-4 league record in his third year at the helm. The Jaguars placed second in the league after being selected fifth in the preseason poll. IUPUI has climbed from ninth place in the league to second place in the three years since Parkinson took over the program.

Joining Hyde as first team All-Summit selections are South Dakota State's Ashley Eide (13.9 ppg, .451 FG pct.) and Megan Waytashek (14.3 ppg, .438 3FG pct.), Omaha's Paige Frauendorfer (15.0 ppg, 8.3 rpg), IUPUI's Kerah Nelson (12.7 ppg, .469 FG pct.) and Kansas City's Eilise O'Connor (17.1 ppg, 3.8 apg, .880 FT pct.).

Comprising the second team is Luke, North Dakota State's Katie Birkel (14.1 ppg, 3.1 apg) and Dani DeGagne (13.6 ppg, 7.4 rpg), IUPUI's DeAirra Goss (12.3 ppg) and South Dakota's Tempestt Wilson (12.9 ppg).

Receiving honorable mention honors are Omaha's Carolyn Blair-Mobley (11.4 ppg, 6.9 rpg), Fort Wayne's Erin Murphy (12.3 ppg), Omaha's Jamie Nash (6.9 apg, 3.2 spg), Oakland's Elena Popkey (11.6 ppg) and South Dakota's Nicole Seekamp (13.5 ppg).

The all-newcomer team consists of Blair-Mobley, Goss, Luke, Popkey and Seekamp.

The Summit League Tournament begins Saturday, March 9 at the Sioux Falls Arena in Sioux Falls, S.D., and will be televised on Midco Sports Network and Fox College Sports. Eight teams will vie for the NCAA automatic bid, which goes to the winner of the championship game on Tuesday, March 12 on ESPNU at 2:30 p.m. (CT).


First Team
Name, School Pos. Yr.
Ashley Eide, South Dakota State G Sr.
Paige Frauendorfer, Omaha G Sr.
Amanda Hyde, Fort Wayne G/F Jr.
Kerah Nelson, IUPUI F Sr.
Eilise O'Connor, Kansas City G Jr.
Megan Waytashek, South Dakota State G/F So.
Second Team
Katie Birkel, North Dakota State G Sr.
Dani DeGagne, North Dakota State G Sr.
DeAirra Goss, IUPUI F Jr.
Ashley Luke, Western Illinois F Fr.
Tempestt Wilson, South Dakota G Sr.
Honorable Mention
Carolyn Blair-Mobley, Omaha G Sr.
Erin Murphy, Fort Wayne G Jr.
Jamie Nash, Omaha G Sr.
Elena Popkey, Oakland G Fr.
Nicole Seekamp, South Dakota G So.
Carolyn Blair-Mobley, Omaha G Sr.
DeAirra Goss, IUPUI F Jr.
Ashley Luke, Western Illinois F Fr.
Elena Popkey, Oakland G Fr.
Nicole Seekamp, South Dakota G So.
Player of the Year
Amanda Hyde, Fort Wayne
Newcomer of the Year
Ashley Luke, Western Illinois
Defensive Player of the Year
Dee-Dee Bellamy, IUPUI
Sixth Woman of the Year
Katie Lingle, South Dakota State
Coach of the Year
Austin Parkinson, IUPUI