Miller, Patterson Named Women's Soccer Players of the Week

North Dakota State's Lauren Miller and South Dakota State's Dani Patterson
North Dakota State's Lauren Miller and South Dakota State's Dani Patterson

Lauren Miller, North Dakota State
Fr. // MF // St. Louis Park, Minn.

Miller earns her second Offensive Player of the Week award this year after scoring all three Bison goals last week with two being overtime game-winners. In North Dakota State's 2-1 win over Omaha, she netted a ball from 10 yards out in the 98th minute after scoring the first Bison tally in the 14th minute of the match. On Sunday, she broke a scoreless tie in the third minute of the first overtime period slipping a shot past the South Dakota goalkeeper to secure the win. For the week, Miller registered six points on three goals with two game-winners and a .556 shot on goal percentage. She now has a team-high seven goals for NDSU this season.

Also nominated: Kristen Hamilton, Denver; Cassie Egle, Fort Wayne; Jordan Walgren, Western Illinois.

Previous honorees: 8/26 – Kristen Hamilton, DU; 9/3 – Jamie Karch, USD; 9/9 – Lauren Miller, NDSU; 9/16 – Kristen Hamilton, DU; Sept. 23 – Monica Bosiljevac, UNO; 9/30 – Kalli Shepler-Tucker, IUPUI; 10/7 – Anisha Kinnarath, NDSU. 

Dani Patterson, South Dakota State
So. // D // Des Moines, Iowa

Patterson collects her second career Defensive Player of the Week award after anchoring a South Dakota State defensive unit that produced a pair of league shutouts. In the 1-0 win over in-state rival South Dakota, the Jackrabbits limited the Coyotes to just six shots in the match. On Sunday, the Mavericks were held to just four shots in SDSU's 1-0 victory. On the week, Patterson led a Jack defense which surrendered 10 shots with six being on goal. South Dakota State has recorded four consecutive shutouts and is tied for the league-lead with nine this season

Also nominated: Amelia Davis, Denver; Sam Pavlika, Fort Wayne; Laura Atkinson, Western Illinois.

Previous honorees: 8/26 – Cassidy Rey, DU/Laura Atkinson, WIU; 9/3 – Nicole Inskeep, SDSU; 9/9 – Cassidy Rey, DU; 9/16 – Cassidy Rey, DU/Nicole Inskeep, SDSU; 9/23 – Giselle Guzman, IUPUI; 9/30 – Amelia Davis, DU; 10/7 – Katie McNeary, SDSU.

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions, 62 All-Americans and 50 Academic All-America selections.

Follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague, @summithoops and @summitchamps