League Announces #SummitWSOC Awards

League Announces #SummitWSOC Awards

ELMHURST, Ill. – The Summit League announced its annual women's soccer all-league awards Wednesday on the eve of its championship tournament. Regular season champion North Dakota State accounted for three of league's top four individual player honors.

NDSU's Lauren Miller was named Offensive Player of the Year while teammates Sierra Bonham was named Goalkeeper of the Year and Britney Monteon earned Freshman of the Year awards. Head coach Mark Cook garnered the Coach of the Year honor. Defensive Player of the Year went to Oral Roberts' Kaily Cox.

Miller leads The Summit League with 16 goals, third-highest in league history, and 37 points, the fourth-most in a season, and six game-winning goals, second-best in league annals. In eight league matches, she totaled nine goals, including five game-winners, and 19 points. Her goal total ranks seventh in NCAA Division I while her points total is ninth. She collected a league-high four Offensive Player of the Week awards to set a Summit League record with eight career honors.

Bonham won her second consecutive Goalkeeper of the Year award and leads The Summit League in overall wins (12) and shutouts (eight). In league play, Bonham led in eight separate categories, including wins (seven), shutouts (six), goals against average (0.46) and save percentage (.915). Her 12 wins is tied for the ninth-highest total in Summit League history while her eight shutouts tie for sixth on the single-season list.

Monteon became the second Bison to earn Freshman of the Year honors (Miller in 2013) after recording an 11-point season on three goals and five assists. She ranks second in The Summit League with three game-winning goals this season and her assist total is fourth.

Cook earned his first Coach of the Year honor after guiding the team to its first unbeaten Summit League season (7-0-1) after being tabbed third in the league's preseason poll. NDSU's 12 overall victories is its highest total since 2011.

Cox started all 19 games for the regular season runner-up and helped lead a defense that yielded 0.87 goals per game in league play. She is the first ORU player since 2005 to earn a Summit League Player of the Year award.

Overall, the Bison had the highest total of all-league selections with six, including four first team honorees. South Dakota State totaled four all-league picks with three on the first team.

Joining Bonham, Cox and Miller on the first team are IUPUI's Krissy Kirkhoff, NDSU's Natalie Fenske and Amy Yang, ORU's Kayla Keller and Brittney Lawrence, SDSU's Tori Poole, Diana Potterveld and Delaney Ratcliffe.


First Team

Sierra Bonham (G), North Dakota State

Kaily Cox (D), Oral Roberts

Natalie Fenske (D), North Dakota State

Kayla Keller (M), Oral Roberts

Krissy Kirkhoff (F), IUPUI

Brittney Lawrence (F), Oral Roberts

Lauren Miller (F), North Dakota State

Tori Poole (M), South Dakota State

Diana Potterveld (F), South Dakota State

Delaney Ratcliffe (D), South Dakota State

Amy Yang (M), North Dakota State

Second Team

Brooke Boothe (M), Denver

Karina Fredette (F), Denver

Nicole Inskeep (G), South Dakota State

Skyler Jessop (M), Western Illinois

Meghan Johnston (D), North Dakota State

Kasha Meyer (D), South Dakota

Stella Norman (D), Denver

Chelsi Rohloff (F), Omaha

Corey Strang (F), South Dakota

Tori Veth (D), North Dakota State

Hannah Wampler (M), Omaha

All-Freshmen Team

Hannah Arning (D), Oral Roberts

Cristiana Behnken (D), Denver

Ryliegh Bohnenstiehl (G), Oral Roberts

Jessica Flores (M), IUPUI

Brittany Jensen (F), South Dakota State

Kayla Kirkwood (M), Western Illinois

Braegan Lyon (D), IUPUI

Britney Monteon (F) , North Dakota State

Hanna Norman (M), North Dakota State

Roxy Roemer (M), North Dakota State

Sammie Villwock (F), South Dakota

Offensive Player of the Year

Lauren Miller, North Dakota State


Defensive Player of the Year

Kaily Cox, Oral Roberts

Goalkeeper of the Year

Sierra Bonham, North Dakota State


Freshman of the Year

Britney Monteon, North Dakota State

Coach of the Year
Mark Cook, North Dakota State


In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 75 Academic All-Americans, 65 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. In 2014-15, The Summit League ranked first for NCAA Graduation Success Rate in women's basketball and second in baseball. For more information about the league and to "See The Summit", visit the newly re-designed www.thesummitleague.org website, follow Summit League Basketball on Twitter @summithoops and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at www.thesummitleague.org/itsl.