League Announces #SummitWSOC Awards

League Announces #SummitWSOC Awards

ELMHURST, Ill. – The Summit League announced its annual women's soccer all-league awards Wednesday on the eve of its championship tournament. Regular season co-champion Denver accounted for three of league's top four individual player honors.

Denver's Makenzie Bothner was named Defensive Player of the Year while teammates Brittany Wilson was named Goalkeeper of the Year and Hannah Adler earned Freshman of the Year awards. Oral Roberts' Lexi Jones received the Offensive Player of the Year accolade while her head coach, Roger Bush, garnered the Coach of the Year honor.

Bothner started in all 18 games she played this season and is tied for the team lead with four assists. Playing in all but 53 of her team's minutes this season, she is part of a defense that yielded just four goals and ranks second in league play with four shutouts.

Wilson allowed just three goals in League play and ranks first in the League in goals-against average (.470). She shared four shutouts on the season and ranks second in save percentage (.875) during League play.

Adler became the first Pioneer to earn Summit League Freshman of the Year honors after recording a 12-point season on four goals and four assists. She ranks first in League action with two game-winning goals this season and her assist total is third.

Jones tied for the League lead in goals (10) and helped her team end the season on a five-game win streak after recording six goals, including a hat-trick and two game-winners, and 12 points during that stretch. She finished tied for second in points (21).

Bush earned his first Coach of the Year honor after guiding the team to its second consecutive Women's Soccer Championship appearance. After opening up League play with three straight losses, he coached his team to five straight victories to end the season.  ORU ranks first in League action in shots (156), goals scored (19), shot percentage (.122), shots on goal (161), and assists (13).

Co-Champion and top seed North Dakota State had the highest total of all-league selections with six, including two first team honorees. Denver and South Dakota State each totaled four all-league picks with three a piece on the first team.

Joining Bothner, Wilson and Jones on the first team are Denver's Francesca Garzelloni, NDSU's Holly Enderle and Amy Yang, ORU's Tahlor Lyman and Maria Stordahl, and SDSU's Nicole Hatcher, Lindsee Larson, and Tori Poole.


First Team
Makenzie Bothner (D), Denver,
Holly Enderle (F), North Dakota State,
Francesca Garzelloni (MF), Denver
Nicole Hatcher(F), South Dakota State,
Lexi Jones (F), Oral Roberts
Lindsee Larson (D), South Dakota State
Tahlor Lyman (MF), Oral Roberts
Tori Poole (MF), South Dakota State
Maria Stordahl (D), Oral Roberts
Brittany Wilson (GK), Denver
Amy Yang (MF), North Dakota State

Second Team
Hannah Adler (F), Denver
Ava Doetsch (D), Omaha
Natalie Fenske (D), North Dakota State
Genna Joyce (D), North Dakota State
Lizzie Lukas (MF), North Dakota State
Tori Minnich (F), IUPUI
Monica Polgar (GK), North Dakota State
Katlin Ptacek (D), South Dakota
Hayley Shelton (MF), IUPUI
Catherine Raster (F), IUPUI
Madison Yueill (MF), South Dakota State

All-Freshmen Team
Hannah Adler (F), Denver
Brooklyn Eardley (D), Oral Roberts
Mariah Haberle (F), North Dakota State
Alexa Hepner (D), South Dakota State
Taryn LaBree (F), South Dakota
Nelly Mamabolo (MF), Oral Roberts
Cheyenne Shorts (D), Denver
Maggie Smither (GK), South Dakota State
Sophia Roux (MF), Omaha
Kellee Willer (MF), South Dakota
Brittany Wilson (GK), Denver

Offensive Player of the Year
Lexi Jones, Oral Roberts

Defensive Player of the Year
Makenzie Bothner, Denver

Goalkeeper of the Year
Brittany Wilson, Denver

Freshman of the Year
Hannah Adler, Denver

Coach of the Year
Roger Bush, Oral Roberts

Celebrating its 35th season of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 80 Academic All-Americans, 75 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit www.thesummitleague.org website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at www.thesummitleague.org/itsl.


Denver Upsets Arizona State
September 4, 2016 Denver Upsets Arizona State