Denver Sweeps Second Consecutive 2017 #SummitWSOC Players of the Week

Denver Sweeps Second Consecutive 2017 #SummitWSOC Players of the Week

ELMHURST, Ill. – Denver midfielder Hannah Adler earned The Summit League Women's Soccer Offensive Player of the week award, while defender Brittney Lewis was awarded the Defensive Player of the Week accolade. The pair guided Denver to a 5-1 win over Albany and 2-2 double overtime tie with UC Riverside to continue Denver's unbeaten start. This is the second consecutive week Denver has swept the #SummitWSOC Player of the Week awards, with Jessie Dancy (Offensive) and Brittany Wilson (Defensive) garnering the honors last week.

So. // M // Oak Park, CA

  • Earned her first career Player of the Week accolade
  • Scored three goals and accumulated seven points against UC Riverside and Albany
  • Netted the game-tying goal in 2-2 draw against UC Riverside
  • Assisted on the first goal, while scoring the third and fifth goals in Denver's 5-1 win over Albany

Also nominated: Nicole Hatcher, South Dakota State; Lauryn Peters, Western Illinois

Previous recipients: Aug. 21 – Jessie Dancy, Denver;

Fr. // D // Centennial, CO

  • Earned her first career Player of the Week accolade
  • Assisted on Denver's first two goals in 5-1 win against Albany
  • Denver defense allowed just 10 shots in regulation between two matches

Also nominated: Alexa Hepner, South Dakota State; Alexandra Siavelis, Western Illinois

Previous recipients: Aug. 21 – Brittany Wilson, Denver;

Through 35 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 100,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University with the University of North Dakota becoming an official member on July 1, 2018. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced nine NCAA Champions along with over 90 Academic All-Americans, nearly 100 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.