Denver, South Dakota State Earn Final #SummitWSOC Weekly Honors

Denver, South Dakota State Earn Final #SummitWSOC Weekly Honors

ELMHURST, Ill. – Denver forward Jessie Dancy earned The Summit League Offensive Player of the Week honor for the third time this season, while South Dakota State defender Alexa Hepner earned the Defensive nod for the first time in her career.

Dancy scored with 17 seconds left to put the Pioneers in front of the Mastodons, helping Denver secure the No. 2 seed in the league tournament. Hepner backboned a defensive line that has posted six consecutive shutouts and only allowed one goal in league play.     


Sr. // F // Park City, Utah

  • Earned her third career Player of the Week honor and third of this season
  • Netted the game-winning goal at Fort Wayne with 17 seconds left
  • Win helped Denver earn the No. 2 seed in The Summit League Championship this weekend
  • Leads league in goals (12) and points (26)

Also nominated: Jordan Langebartels, Oral Roberts; Nicole Hatcher, South Dakota State, Emily Romero, Omaha

Previous recipients: Aug. 21 – Jessie Dancy, Denver; Aug. 28 – Hannah Adler, Denver; Sept. 5 – Taryn LaBree, South Dakota and Leah Manuleleua, South Dakota State; Sept. 11 – Abby Meader, Omaha; Sept. 18 – Nicole Hatcher, South Dakota State; Sept. 25 – Rachael Baker, Oral Roberts; Oct. 2 – Jessie Dancy, Denver and Nicole Hatcher, South Dakota State; Oct. 9 – Malley O'Brien, North Dakota State; Oct. 16 – Nicole Hatcher, South Dakota State; Oct. 23 – Leah Manuleleua, South Dakota State


Jr. // D // Prior Lake, Minn.

  • Earned her first career Player of the Week accolade
  • Only player to record 180 minutes on the weekend for a defensive unit that posted two shutouts
  • Defense allowed only six shots on goal en route to securing The Summit League regular season title
  • Defensive backline has posted six straight shutouts and allowed just one goal in Summit League play
  • Team has won nine straight games and is unbeaten in the last 11

Also nominated: Caroline Frank, Oral Roberts; Erin Dimon, Omaha

Previous recipients: Aug. 21 – Brittany Wilson, Denver; Aug. 28 – Brittney Lewis, Denver; Sept. 5 – Coral Suarez, South Dakota; Sept. 11 – Jessica Bollinger, Omaha; Sept. 18 – Monica Polgar, North Dakota State; Sept. 25 – Ryliegh Bohnenstiehl, Oral Roberts; Oct. 2 – Ryliegh Bohnenstiehl, Oral Roberts and Haley Johnson, Omaha; Oct. 9 – Ines Palmiero Herrera, Western Illinois; Oct. 16 – Annie Williams, South Dakota State; Oct. 23 – Maggie Smither, South Dakota State

Through 35 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 100,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University with the University of North Dakota becoming an official member on July 1, 2018. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced nine NCAA Champions along with over 90 Academic All-Americans, nearly 100 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.