Fort Wayne Wins Women’s Tennis Championship

Fort Wayne Wins Women’s Tennis Championship
Fort Wayne defeated Kansas City, 4-3, to win the 2013 Summit League Women's Tennis Championship on April 27 in Fort Wayne, Ind. (Photo by Lucas Carter).

Summit League Tennis Championships Page

Box Score | Photo Gallery

FORT WAYNE, Ind. – Fort Wayne edged Kansas City, 4-3, to win the Summit League Women's Tennis Championship. The title marked the Mastodons third in four years.

The teams battled until the very end, with the clinching point coming at the sixth and final singles match of the day.  At the No. 6 position, Fort Wayne's Marcy Huck and Kansas City's Amelie Amsallem split the first two sets. As their match played into the third and deciding set, the championship hinged on the outcome. Huck delivered a 6-2 win in the final set that sealed the crown for Fort Wayne.

The Mastodons took an early 1-0 lead by claiming the doubles point behind victories from Anita Henestrosa and Caterina Kiefer (8-3) at No. 1 and Kristine Lindal and Huck (8-4) at No. 3.

Kansas City evened the score at one when Laura Bouet topped Henestrosa, The Summit League Player of the Year, in straight sets (4 and 2).

The Mastodons and Kangaroos alternated the next four singles matches. Kiefer notched a 6-3, 7-5 win over Dimitra Stavrianakou at No. 2 before Suzan Lisenby countered for Kansas City with a 6-1, 7-5 victory at No. 5. Fort Wayne got within one point of victory behind a Miloslava Shustova straight-set (7-5, 6-4) triumph at No. 4. Kansas City drew even at three when Eva Dalvai scored a three-set (6-2, 4-6, 6-0) win at No. 3 to set No. 6 singles up to be the deciding point.

Fort Wayne (22-7) earned The Summit League's automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament while Kansas City ended its season at 11-14.