Denver Claims Its Fifth-Consecutive #SummitWTN Tournament Title

Summit League Tennis Championships Web Page

The Basics
Score: No. 1 Denver 4, No. 3 South Dakota 0 | Box Score | Photo Gallery
Records: Denver (20-4), South Dakota (10-12)
Location: Gates Tennis Center (Denver, Colo.)

DENVER – The No. 1 seeded Denver women's tennis team made Summit League history when it secured its fifth-consecutive #SummitWTN Championship title by defeating No. 3 South Dakota, 4-0.

Denver has claimed the tournament and regular season crown in each of its five years in the league. In league history, only Oral Roberts has also won five consecutive championship titles (1998-2002).

The Pioneers came out firing on all cylinders, earning the doubles point quickly from No. 3 Player of the Year Bianca Mok and Camille Verden-Anderson (6-2) and No. 1 Julia O'Loughlin and Gracie Mboko (6-2). Mok and Verden-Anderson outscored their doubles opponents this weekend by a margin of 12-3.

Mok kept the momentum going, taking No. 2 singles in a dominating 6-1, 6-2 win. Anna Riedmiller defeated her opponent with identical scores at No. 6, followed by Verden-Anderson clinching at No. 5 (2 and 1).

Turning Point

Mok made quick work of her opponent at No. 2 singles (1 and 2) to give Denver a staggering amount of momentum to claim the title.

Inside The Box Score

  • Denver outscored USD 12-4 in the two doubles matches. The Pioneers dominated the doubles on the weekend by a margin of 24-8.
  • The Pioneers did not allow more than two points in any of the singles decisions.

News & Notes

  • Denver extended its Summit League Tournament winning streak to ten matches.
  • The Pioneers have won all ten of their all-time Summit League Tournament matches by shutout (4-0).
  • DU claimed its record fifth-consecutive Summit League Tournament title Saturday.
  • Summit League Player of the Year Bianca Mok won both her doubles and singles competitions this weekend, extending her league singles record to 5-0 this year.

Up Next
Denver will await its NCAA fate Tuesday, May 1 at 5 pm ET. Fans can follow the selection show at Individual women's tennis selections will be announced Wednesday, May 2 at 6 pm ET.

Through 35 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 100,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University with the University of North Dakota becoming an official member on July 1, 2018. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced nine NCAA Champions along with over 90 Academic All-Americans, nearly 100 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.